Home Formula 3Euroformula Foster fastest in Euroformula Thursday free practice at Barcelona

Foster fastest in Euroformula Thursday free practice at Barcelona

by Ida Wood

Double R Racing’s Louis Foster started his second Euroformula appearance on a high by topping Thursday free practice at Barcelona.

Two sessions took place a day earlier than usual as a result of this weekend’s packed schedule, with Van Amersfoort Racing’s Andreas Estner heading Foster in the first of the afternoon sessions after setting the pace in pre-event testing.

Foster struck back in session two, going to the top of the times midway through and then improving late on to edge CryptoTower Racing Team’s points leader Yifei Ye by 0.066 seconds after the Chinese driver upped his pace in the final few minutes

That session was interrupted by Foster’s team-mate Matthias Luethen, confirmed as contesting the full weekend and therefore making his race debut after several free practice appearances, whose car got beached in the Turn 2 gravel.

Motopark’s Cameron Das was just 0.001s faster than Ye’s title rival and team-mate Lukas Dunner to claim third in FP2, with a lack of an improvement from Estner meaning he had to rely on his FP1 best to go fifth fastest.

There were 10 drivers within a second of the pace set by Foster, who only made his championship debut last time out at Spa-Francorchamps, with Carlin’s Zane Maloney the next best continental racing rookie in sixth place.

Rafael Villagomez, who makes his debut this weekend with Drivex School, was ninth fastest and ahead of his team-mate Glenn van Berlo.

Free practice results
Pos Driver Team Time Gap Laps
1 Louis Foster Double R Racing 1m36.449s 35
2 Yifei Ye CryptoTower 1m36.515s +0.066s 29
3 Cameron Das Motopark 1m36.997s +0.548s 31
4 Lukas Dunner CryptoTower 1m36.998s +0.549s 31
5 Andreas Estner Van Amersfoort Racing 1m37.022s +0.573s 37
6 Zane Maloney Carlin 1m37.126s +0.677s 36
7 Manuel Maldonado Motopark 1m37.235s +0.786s 35
8 Niklas Krutten Motopark 1m37.249s +0.800s 33
9 Rafael Villagomez Drivex School 1m37.270s +0.821s 27
10 Glenn van Berlo Drivex School 1m37.430s +0.981s 31
11 Rui Andrade CryptoTower 1m37.670s +1.221s 34
12 Sebastian Estner Van Amersfoort Racing 1m37.684s +1.235s 34
13 Ido Cohen Carlin 1m37.724s +1.275s  27
14 Alexandre Bardinon Van Amersfoort Racing 1m37.881s +1.432s 38
15 Matthias Luethen Double R Racing 1m39.280s +2.831s  34