Home Formula 4British F4 Fortec’s James Higgins wins British F4’s 250th race

Fortec’s James Higgins wins British F4’s 250th race

by Bethonie Waring

Photo: Jakob Ebrey Photography

Fortec Motorsports’ James Higgins won British Formula 4’s 250th race in a red-flagged encounter at Oulton Park. 

The race ended with three minutes left on the clock after Patrick Heuzenroeder hit the barriers at speed as he exited Druids. 

Heuzenroeder got out of the car, but damage to the barrier required red flags and racing would not resume. 

It was Kanato Le who took control of the race off the line, getting a better start than poleman Higgins from the front row of the grid.

He was roughly half a second ahead of Higgins, who had Daniel Guinchard for company, when he hit a problem and limped back to the pits with damage to the rear-left tyre and front-right.  

That promoted Higgins back into first, where he remained until the chequered flag. Guinchard stayed close behind, ready to take advantage of any mistake, but Higgins stayed in control for his second win of the season. 

Louis Sharp struggled to move forwards after starting effectively eighth – Aiden Neate having to miss the race following a collision in race two. He climbed up to sixth and was in a train of drivers running close behind third-placed William Macintyre. 

Macintyre held off Deagen Fairclough for his fifth podium of the season, with Dion Gowda slotting in to fifth. 

Aqil Alibhai finished seventh ahead of Noah Lisle and top rookie classification driver Gabriel Stilp, while Mika Abrahams rounded out the top 10. 

Race results (11 laps)
Pos Driver Team Time
1 James Higgins Fortec Motorsports 15m06.555s
2 Daniel Guinchard Chris Dittmann Racing +0.818s
3 William Macintyre Hitech GP +2.216s
4 Deagen Fairclough JHR Developments +3.002s
5 Dion Gowda Carlin +3.804s
6 Louis Sharp Carlin +4.480s
7 Aqil Alibhai Virtuosi Racing +5.189s
8 Noah Lisle Carlin +7.704s
9 Gabriel Stilp Hitech GP +8.031s
10 Mika Abrahams Fortec Motorsports +9.652s
11 Gustav Jonsson Chris Dittmann Racing +10.369s
12 Jack Sherwood Chris Dittmann Racing +11.674s
13 Josh Irfan Carlin +12.720s
14 Kai Daryanani Virtuosi Racing +14.570s
15 James Piszyck Hitech GP +15.922s
16 Isaac Barashi Argenti Motorsport +17.204s
17 Jaden Pariat Argenti Motorsport +17.910s
18 Douwe Dedecker Virtuosi Racing +18.861s
19 Sonny Smith JHR Developments +23.385s
20 Kanato Le Hitech GP +1 lap
Ret Patrick Heuzenroeder Argenti Motorsport
DNS Aiden Neate Fortec Motorsports
Fastest lap: Le, 1m21.414s

Championship standings
1 Sharp 161   2 Macintyre 156   3 Gowda 144   4 Le 134   5 Higgins 105   6 Fairclough 104   7 Lisle 98   8 Alibhai 92   9 Neate 91   10 Piszyck 89