Home Formula 4GB4 Webster storms from 11th to win reversed-grid GB4 contest

Webster storms from 11th to win reversed-grid GB4 contest

by Steve Whitfield

Photo: Jakob Ebrey Photography

Evans GP’s Cooper Webster took his second GB4 triumph of the weekend at Snetterton with a stunning drive from 11th on the grid in race three.

Fortec Motorsports’ Aditya Kulkarni led for the majority of the race after beating reversed-grid pole-sitter Jack Clifford off the line and then pulling out a gap, but was reeled in and passed by the charging Webster late on.

Having moved up to eighth at the start, Webster continued to make progress by diving inside Kevin Mills Racing’s Tom Mills for seventh at Wilsons hairpin on lap two, and then took sixth from Fortec’s Ruhaan Alva a few corners later at Agostini.

The Australian again showed confidence on the brakes to take fifth from Fox Motorsport’s Liam McNeilly into Agostini next time by.

He gained two more places on lap four, passing Graham Brunton Racing’s Jeremy Fairbairn into Wilsons before sweeping past Sid Smith through Brundle and Nelson bends for third.

After taking second away from Clifford on the fifth lap, Webster swiftly eradicated a 2.5-second deficit to Kulkarni. His first attempt to take the lead ended in contact at Wilsons after initially pulling alongside through Riches.

But Webster was not to be denied, eventually getting by through Brundle and Nelson with less than two laps to go before pulling 2.545s clear of Kulkarni by the finish.

Mills spent much of the race in seventh before making late progress, passing former KMR team-mate Fairbairn for sixth and then gained two more spots when Fox team-mates McNeilly and Smith ran into trouble.

The GB4 points leader then denied Jack Clifford a first podium, edging his team-mate in a drag race to the line for third by 0.025s.

Fortec’s Colin Queen also passed Fairbairn late on to finish fifth, while Lucas Blakeley ended his first weekend in slicks-and-wings with seventh. Alva came home ninth ahead of GBR’s Harry Burgoyne.

Dylan Hotchin and Thomas Lee were involved in first-lap contact, Hotchin retiring with damage as a result.

Race result (10 laps)
Pos Driver Team Time
1 Cooper Webster Evans GP 18m30.501s
2 Aditya Kulkarni Fortec Motorsports +2.545s
3 Tom Mills Kevin Mills Racing +5.885s
4 Jack Clifford Kevin Mills Racing +6.011s
5 Colin Queen Fortec Motorsports +7.623s
6 Jeremy Fairbairn Graham Brunton Racing +9.061s
7 Lucas Blakeley Kevin Mills Racing +9.667s
8 Ruhaan Alva Fortec Motorsports +14.747s
9 Harry Burgoyne Jr Graham Brunton Racing +15.803s
10 Liam McNeilly Fox Motorsport +19.115s
11 Sid Smith Fox Motorsport +2 laps
12 Thomas Lee Evans GP +2 laps
Ret Dylan Hotchin
Fastest lap: Webster, 1m48.908s

Championship standings
1 Mills 352  2 Webster 274  3 Queen 229  4 McNeilly 226  5 Fairbairn 190  6 Burgoyne 150  7 Kularni 142  8 Alva 129  9 Clifford 128  10 Harri Reynolds 125