Home Formula 4ADAC F4 Formula 4 test at Red Bull Ring concludes in snowy conditions

Formula 4 test at Red Bull Ring concludes in snowy conditions

by Ida Wood

Photo: Tom Dormann – Sportpics

Snowfall was the big talking point for ADAC and Italian Formula 4 teams testing at the Red Bull Ring on Tuesday, as track time was slashed.

Rather than a lengthy session in the morning and then another in the afternoon, there was only two hours of running in the middle of the day as teams waited all morning for overnight snow to melt (or to be used to make pitlane snowmen).

The air temperature also remained at a chilly 2°C until warming in the afternoon, by which point the test had wrapped up after snow also inflicted Monday’s running.

US Racing’s drivers were first to the top of the timesheet in the shortened second day of testing, with Tim Tramnitz laying down an early 1m33.259s benchmark before Jenzer Motorsport’s Santiago Ramos bettered him a with a 1m32.963s.

Prema’s Sebastian Montoya was next to go fastest with a 1m31.932s and he remained there until Eron Rexhepi (BVM Racing) hit trouble and caused a red flag.

The session restarted and Jenzer’s Francesco Braschi brought the pace down to a 1m31.682s, a target for his team-mate Ramos to beat 10 minutes later.

No other driver could get close to Ramos’s new 1m31.191s benchmark, including himself, until the final 10 minutes when Monday pacesetter Ollie Bearman became the first driver to break into the 1m30s.

The Van Amersfoort Racing driver was 0.234s faster than Ramos, with the next 19 drivers all within a second of the pace.

Polish karter Kacper Sztuka was third fastest for AS Motorsport, but is yet to sign to race with the team, with Nico Rosberg’s protege Taylor Barnard (BWR Motorsports) and Leonardo Fornaroli (Iron Lynx) completing the top five.

Charlie Wurz, another who is currently racing in karting, was 14th fastest for Prema and ahead of two of its signed drivers.

Test results

Pos Driver Team Time Gap Laps
1 Ollie Bearman Van Amersfoort Racing 1m30.957s 35
2 Santiago Ramos Jenzer Motorsport 1m31.191s +0.234s 43
3 Kacper Sztuka AS Motorsport 1m31.494s +0.537s 49
4 Taylor Barnard BWR Motorsports 1m31.518s +0.561s 46
5 Leonardo Fornaroli Iron Lynx 1m31.551s +0.594s 24
6 Francesco Braschi Jenzer Motorsport 1m31.558s +0.601s 43
7 Nicolas Baptiste Cram Motorsport 1m31.590s +0.633s 46
8 Conrad Laursen Prema 1m31.610s +0.653s 40
9 Joshua Dufek Van Amersfoort Racing 1m31.624s +0.667s 37
10 Vlad Lomko US Racing 1m31.629s +0.672s 44
11 Sebastian Montoya Prema 1m31.635s +0.678s 42
12 Bence Valint Van Amersfoort Racing 1m31.697s +0.740s 34
13 Victor Bernier R-ace GP 1m31.704s +0.747s 42
14 Charlie Wurz Prema 1m31.776s +0.819s 40
15 Tim Tramnitz US Racing 1m31.826s +0.869s 46
16 Hamda Al Qubaisi Prema 1m31.839s +0.882s 42
17 Valentino Catalano BWR Motorsports 1m31.867s +0.910s 44
18 Leonardo Bizzotto BVM Racing 1m31.888s +0.931s 39
19 Kirill Smal Prema 1m31.903s +0.946s 40
20 Levente Revesz AKM Motorsport 1m31.918s +0.961s 43
21 Elia Sperandio Jenzer Motorsport 1m31.954s +0.997s 43
22 Maya Weug Iron Lynx 1m31.981s +1.024s 43
23 Sami Meguetounif R-ace GP 1m31.982s +1.025s 50
24 Lorenzo Patrese AKM Motorsport 1m32.018s +1.061s 51
25 Nikita Bedrin Van Amersfoort Racing 1m32.024s +1.067s 35
26 Francesco Simonazzi BVM Racing 1m32.100s +1.143s 37
27 Jorge Garciarce Jenzer Motorsport 1m32.121s +1.164s 42
28 Marcus Amand R-ace GP 1m32.555s +1.598s 49
29 Pedro Perino DR Formula 1m32.801s +1.844s 46
30 Eron Rexhepi BVM Racing 1m32.852s +1.895s 27
31 Toni Kayla Naude AS Motorsport 1m34.172s +3.215s 46
32 Pietro Armanni Iron Lynx 1m34.393s +3.436s 8