Home Formula 4British F4 Fielding grabs race two victory after last-lap retirement for Ticktum

Fielding grabs race two victory after last-lap retirement for Ticktum

by Gruz David
Photo: Jakob Ebrey Photography

Photo: Jakob Ebrey Photography

Sennan Fielding was victorious?at Knockhill in an MSA Formula race two which had two safety car periods and a last-lap change in the lead.

Starting from sixth on the reversed grid, Fielding gained two places at the start to slot in behind pole-sitter Dan Ticktum, Josh Smith and Colton Herta.

The safety car made an appearance at the end of lap one, in order to clear the beached cars of first-lap retirements Jessica Hawkins and Tarun Reddy.

There were no changes at the front after the restart but the race was neutralized again soon.

The culprit was championship frontrunner Lando Norris this time, whose car was stuck in the gravel following a spin.

Once going back to green, contact between Smith and Herta allowed Fielding to sneak into second. Herta managed to retake the position temporarily but?Fielding was soon back through, set to finish the race as runner-up.

That all changed however, as Ticktum, who was leading by three seconds at that point, lost drive on the final lap and was forced into an early retirement, with several drivers crashing behind.

As a result, Fielding won the race ahead of Herta and Smith.

The Arden trio of Sandy Mitchell, Enaam Ahmed and Ricky Collard finished fourth, fifth and seventh respectively, while Matheus Leist secured sixth.

The top ten was completed by Rafa Martins, Jack Butel and Ollie Pidgley.

Race results
Pos. Driver Team Time/Gap
1 Sennan Fielding JHR Developments 19 laps in 18:52.111
2 Colton Herta Carlin +0.722
3 Josh Smith Fortec +1.498
4 Sandy Mitchell Arden +3.076
5 Enaam Ahmed Arden +3.438
6 Matheus Leist Double R +3.827
7 Ricky Collard Arden +4.353
8 Rafael Martins SWB Motorsport +6.851
9 Jack Butel JHR Developments +8.949
10 Ollie Pidgley Richardson Racing +11.315
11 Petru Florescu Carlin +12.278
12 Louise Richardson Richardson Racing +16.848
13 Dan Ticktum Fortec +1 lap
14 Daniel Baybutt JTR +1 lap
Not classified
James Pull Fortec +6 laps
Lando Norris Carlin +10 laps
Tarun Reddy Double R +19 laps
Jessica Hawkins Falcon Motorsport +19 laps