Home Featured FIA decides Spa F3 sprint race counts for points, penalises Prema pair

FIA decides Spa F3 sprint race counts for points, penalises Prema pair

by Formula Scout

Photo: Formula Motorsport Ltd

The FIA has decided that this morning’s Formula 3 sprint race at Spa-Francorchamps will award points, after it was initially determined that not enough green-flag action had taken place.

On Thursday, the race was shortened from 15 to 12 laps due to concerns about tyre durability. In the end the tyres were not put to the test, as crashes and wet weather meant the race ran primarily behind the safety car.

In the series regulations, it states “no points will be awarded unless a minimum of two laps have been completed by the leader without a safety car and/or virtual safety car intervention”. That was cited by the championship when the race finished, as less than two full laps of green flag running had been completed.

However, this only applies if the “scheduled race distance” is shortened or the race is suspended and not resumed, when all 12 planned laps were in fact run.

In the paddock, several competitors were told that points would in fact be awarded for the race, although it was only 10 hours after the chequered flag that a final result was published confirming that would be the case.

While Caio Collet therefore gets 10 points for his victory in the race (plus one for fastest lap), two of those who originally finished in points-paying positions have been denied those scores because of penalties.

Championship contender Zak O’Sullivan originally finished fourth but receives a five-second penalty for passing Hugh Barter after both went off-track at Raidillon, stewards determining that he gained a lasting advantage by carrying more speed off the circuit.

O’Sullivan’s Prema team-mate Dino Beganovic finished ninth after contact with Gabriel Bortoleto at La Source that caused the championship leader to retire, and has been given a 10-second penalty as a result.

O’Sullivan falls to 15th and Beganovic to 22nd in the results, with Tommy Smith also picking up a 10s penalty for contact with Oliver Goethe, demoting him to 24th and final finisher.

Gabriele Mini has been given a five-place grid penalty for his coming together with Pepe Marti, who avoided sanction for rejoining into the path of Ido Cohen because he was following a marshal’s instruction.

Revised result (12 laps)
Pos Driver Team Time
1 Caio Collet Van Amersfoort Racing 36m16.106s
2 Taylor Barnard Jenzer Motorsport +0.559s
3 Paul Aron Prema +0.998s
4 Jonny Edgar MP Motorsport +1.536s
5 Franco Colapinto MP Motorsport +1.689s
6 Hugh Barter Campos Racing +2.206s
7 Nikola Tsolov ART Grand Prix +2.512s
8 Luke Browning Hitech GP +3.382s
9 Leonardo Fornaroli Trident +3.538s
10 Gregoire Saucy ART Grand Prix +4.446s
11 Nikita Bedrin Jenzer Motorsport +4.728s
12 Sophia Floersch PHM by Charouz +5.352s
13 Kaylen Frederick ART Grand Prix +5.642s
14 Francesco Simonazzi Carlin +6.206s
15 Zak O’Sullivan Prema +6.316s
16 Mari Boya MP Motorsport +6.528s
17 Roberto Faria PHM by Charouz +7.623s
18 Alex Garcia Jenzer Motorsport +10.371s
19 Christian Mansell Campos Racing +11.889s
20 Ollie Gray Carlin +12.672s
21 Michael Shin PHM by Charouz +13.135s
22 Dino Beganovic Prema +13.242s
23 Rafael Villagomez Van Amersfoort Racing +18.848s
24 Tommy Smith Van Amersfoort Racing +20.833s
Ret Gabriel Bortoleto Trident
Ret Gabriele Mini Hitech GP
Ret Pepe Marti Campos Racing
Ret Oliver Goethe Trident
Ret Ido Cohen Carlin
Ret Sebastian Montoya Hitech GP
Fastest lap: Collet, 2m14.585s

Championship standings
1 Bortoleto 144  2 Marti 102   3 Aron 102   4 O’Sullivan 101   5 Colapinto 99   Beganovic 94   Mini 87   8 Goethe 66   9 Fornaroli 66   10 Saucy 54