Home News Ferrari junior Wharton dominates for third F4 UAE win and points lead

Ferrari junior Wharton dominates for third F4 UAE win and points lead

by Ida Wood

Photo: F4 UAE

James Wharton has moved past the absent Andrea Kimi Antonelli for the Formula 4 United Arab Emirates points lead with his third win in a row.

The Abu Dhabi Racing by Prema driver claimed another lights-to-flag win in race three at Dubai Autodrome, winning by 14.140 seconds ahead of Charlie Wurz.

It was actually team-mate Aiden Neate who finished second on-the-road, 7.485s behind the winner, but a 10s penalty for being out of place on the starting grid dropped him to third.

MP Motorsport’s Tasanapol Inthraphuvasak started second but finished fourth, being passed by Neate in the first portion of the race and then by Prema’s Wurz on lap 11 of 16 after several minutes of continious pressure being applied.

Neate’s penalty means Inthraphuvasak remains second in the standings though, ahead of him by one point, while Mercedes-AMG Formula 1 junior Antonelli is shuffled down to fourth.

Hitech GP pair Ollie Gray and Alex Dunne both tried to get involved in the battles ahead but could only finish fifth and sixth, while PHM Racing’s Nikita Bedrin came out on top of a big scrap for seventh.

Miron Pingasov had initially been at the front of that group of fighting cars after Global Racing Service’s Vladislav Ryabov fell down the order, and he was in amongst the Hitechs until a last-lap pass by Dunne led to a concertina and he dropped behind Bedrin and had to work hard to cross the finish line ahead of Prema’s Rafael Camara.

There was a race-long battle for 15th which Ryabov fell into, and a brilliant over-under move by Mumbai Falcons’ Sohil Shah meant he came out on top ahead of PHM’s Barnard, AKM Motorsport’s Loris Spinelli, JHR Developments Joseph Loake – another to drop several places – and Ryabov.

Race results (16 laps)
Pos Driver Team Time
1 James Wharton Abu Dhabi Racing by Prema 26m38.534s
2 Charlie Wurz Prema +14.140s
3 Aiden Neate Abu Dhabi Racing by Prema +17.485s
4 Tasanapol Inthraphuvasak MP Motorsport +17.902s
5 Ollie Gray Hitech GP +21.229s
6 Alex Dunne Hitech GP +21.924s
7 Nikita Bedrin PHM Racing +22.932s
8 Miron Pingasov MP Motorsport +23.726s
9 Rafael Camara Prema +24.231s
10 Rik Koen MP Motorsport +24.575s
11 Suleiman Zanfari MP Motorsport +28.079s
12 Martinius Stenshorne 3Y by R-ace GP +28.479s
13 Ivan Domingues Xcel Motorsport +29.733s
14 Nikhil Bohra 3Y by R-ace GP +35.652s
15 Sohil Shah Mumbai Falcons by Xcel +38.296s
16 Taylor Barnard PHM Racing +39.077s
17 Loris Spinelli AKM Motorsport +39.945s
18 Joseph Loake JHR Developments +40.648s
19 Vladislav Ryabov GRS +43.302s
20 Jamie Day Xcel Motorsport +46.174s
21 Nandhavud Bhirombhakdi Xcel Motorsport +47.106s
22 Anshul Gandhi Cram-Hitech GP +48.513s
23 Brando Badoer AKM Motorsport +48.783s
24 Victoria Blokhina 3Y by R-ace GP +49.077s
25 Ricardo Escotto Cram-Hitech GP +50.618s
26 Jonas Ried PHM Racing +1m03.822s
27 Jules Castro Pinnacle Motorsport +1m11.565s
28 Michael Shin JHR Developments +2 laps
Ret Ismail Akhmedkhodjaev 3Y by R-ace GP
Fastest lap: Wharton, 1m39.260s

Championship standings
1 Wharton 102   2 Inthraphuvasak 94   3 Neate 93   4 Andrea Kimi Antonelli 83   5 Wurz 81   6 Barnard 45   7 Gray 39   8 Bedrin 34   9 Dunne 32   10 Day 25