Home Formula 4Italian F4 Ferrari junior Beganovic claims first win in cars at Imola in Italian F4

Ferrari junior Beganovic claims first win in cars at Imola in Italian F4

by Bethonie Waring

Photo: ACI Sport

Ferrari junior Dino Beganovic picked up his first single-seater win in a disrupted second Italian Formula 4 race of the weekend at Imola.

The safety car was brought out four times during the 30-minute race, which also ended behind the safety car.

Prema’s Beganovic managed each restart well. After keeping points-leading team-mate Gabriele Mini behind on the initial start from pole, he was able to keep out of reach of those behind throughout/

Mini held off Van Amersfoort Racing’s Jak Crawford to make it a Prema one-two.

Before the race got underway, there was an issue as Cenyu Han ran into the gravel on the formation lap, prompting a second formation lap for everyone else.

When the race started, Mini pulled alongside Beganovic but couldn’t make a move stick, while US Racing’s Ollie Bearman battled with Crawford for third.

The first safety car period came on lap one, when Axel Gnos crashed after his front wing became stuck under his front wheels.

Beganovic pulled away on the restart and had built a good gap to Mini when the safety car returned to clear up Bhaitech team-mates Sebastian Ogaard and Dexter Patterson colliding. Racing resumed, only to be paused again when Bence Valint entered the gravel.

The track turned green with four minutes to go. Again, Beganovic pulled away, only to have his lead cut when team-mate Sebastian Montoya ran into the barriers after contact with Mucke Motorsport’s Joshua Durksen.

Crawford pressured Mini but ended up holding off Duerksen for third, and Iron Lynx’s Leonardo Fornaroli finished fifth after a wide moment dropped Bearman down to sixth.

VAR’s Francesco Pizzi was spun around and Cram Motorsport’s Andrea Rosso was dropped from seventh to 21st by a penalty for an illegal overtale. Rosso is now out of title contention, with Pizzi the only driver who can beat Mini.

Race results (14 laps)
Pos Driver Team Time
1 Dino Beganovic Prema 32m48.861s
2 Gabriele Mini Prema +0.499s
3 Jak Crawford Van Amersfoort Racing +0.615s
4 Joshua Duerksen US Racing +0.720s
5 Leonardo Fornaroli Iron Lynx +1.225s
6 Ollie Bearman US Racing +1.547s
7 Pietro Delli Guanti BVM Technorace +2.717s
8 Filip Ugran Jenzer Motorsport +2.778s
9 Gabriel Bortoleto Prema +3.027s
10 Santiago Ramos Jenzer Motorsport +3.827s
11 Jesse Salmenautio Bhaitech +3.926s
12 Jonny Edgar Van Amersfoort Racing +4.279s
13 Jasin Ferati Jenzer Motorsport +4.717s
14 Vlad Lomko US Racing +4.942s
15 Yaroslav Shevyrtalov Iron Lynx +5.663s
16 Nicolas Baptiste Cram Motorsport +6.541s
17 Vittorio Catino Cram Motorsport +11.259s
18 Sebastian Freymuth AS Motorsport +11.298s
19 Pietro Armanni BVM Technorace +11.436s
20 Diego Contecha Mucke Motorsport +11.774s
21 Andrea Rosso Cram Motorsport +11.974s
22 Tikhon Kharitonov Bhaitech +14.394s
23 Francesco Simonazzi BVM Technorace +30.354s
24 Mateusz Kaprzyk Cram Motorsport +36.763s
25 Francesco Pizzi Van Amersfoort Racing +2 laps
26 Sebastian Montoya Prema +2 laps
Ret Bence Valint Van Amersfoort Racing
Ret Sebastian Ogaard Bhaitech
Ret Dexter Patterson Bhaitech
Ret Francesco Braschi Jenzer Motorsport
Ret Kirill Smal Prema
Ret Hamda Al Qubaisi Abu Dhabi Racing
Ret Cenyu Han Van Amersfoort Racing
Ret Axel Gnos G4 Racing
Fastest lap: Beganovic, 1m45.365s

Championship Standings
Mini 258   2 Pizzi 181   3 Beganovic 153   4 Rosso 139   5 Bortoleto 127   6 Ugran 124   7 Edgar 115   8 Crawford 115   9 Fornaroli 94   10 Montoya 75