Home Formula 2 Drugovich tops last morning of F2 testing at Barcelona

Drugovich tops last morning of F2 testing at Barcelona

by Alejandro Alonso Lopez

Photo: Formula Motorsport Limited

MP Motorsport’s Felipe Drugovich ended the last morning session of Formula 2’s in-season Barcelona test on top as drivers performed qualifying simulations.

Clear skies and warmer temperatures allowed drivers to run in more representative conditions than the two previous days. This led to teams carrying out qualifying runs on the soft compound tyre as well as long runs on both the soft and hard tyre.

During the first hour of running, most drivers went out on qualifying simulations on the soft tyre, something that only four drivers had managed to do the previous afternoon.

After the first attempts, Carlin’s Liam Lawson headed the times with a 1m27.888s lap, which he would better by 0.068 seconds a few minutes later.

Lawson’s first laptime was already fastest than Campos Racing’s Ralph Boschung best lap on Tuesday afternoon. The Swiss’ 1m27.929s had been until then the best time set during testing so far.

A later effort from Drugovich as the session reached its halfway point beat Lawson’s benchmark by 0.291s. The Brazilian was the last driver to go for a qualifying lap, and after he did, the track stayed almost empty for several minutes.

The first and only red flag in the morning came out with 1h15m on the clock as Drugovich’s team-mate Clement Novalak came to a halt at the exit of turn two. It took 30 minutes for green flags to wave again, as marshals used the red flag to clean some gravel that had gone on track in the last sector.

Long run simulations continued for some drivers when the session went green again.

Morning session
Pos Driver Team Time Gap Laps
1 Felipe Drugovich MP Motorsport 1m27.529s 29
2 Liam Lawson Carlin 1m27.820s +0.291s 40
3 Jack Doohan Virtuosi 1m27.838s +0.309s 50
4 Richard Verschoor Trident 1m27.858s +0.329s 36
5 Dennis Hauger Prema 1m27.945s +0.416s 31
6 Ayumu Iwasa DAMS 1m27.989s +0.460s 28
7 Jehan Daruvala Prema 1m28.019s +0.490s 30
8 Theo Pourchaire ART Grand Prix 1m28.021s +0.492s 28
9 Enzo Fittipaldi Charouz Racing System 1m28.027s +0.498s 30
10 Logan Sargeant Carlin 1m28.164s +0.635s 49
11 Calan Williams Trident 1m28.222s +0.693s 22
12 Clement Novalak MP Motorsport 1m28.224s +0.695s 28
13 Marcus Armstrong Hitech GP 1m28.236s +0.707s 40
14 Frederik Vesti ART Grand Prix 1m28.281s +0.752s 26
15 Ralph Boschung Campos Racing 1m28.321s +0.792s 42
16 Jake Hughes Van Amersfoort Racing 1m28.352s +0.823s 28
17 Roy Nissany DAMS 1m28.375s +0.846s 27
18 Olli Caldwell Campos Racing 1m28.648s +1.119s 29
19 Amaury Cordeel Van Amersfoort Racing 1m28.785s +1.256s 31
20 Juri Vips Hitech GP 1m28.648s +1.275s 40
21 Marino Sato Virtuosi 1m29.282s +1.753s 22
21 David Beckmann Charouz Racing System 1m29.434s +1.905s 42