Home Formula 4British F4 Fairclough wins red flagged opening race of British F4 season

Fairclough wins red flagged opening race of British F4 season

by Bethonie Waring

Photo: Jakob Ebrey Photography

Hitech GP’s Deagan Fairclough won the opening race of the 2024 British Formula 4 season at Donington Park, which was shortened by red flags.

Racing was halted a lap early on lap 17 due to there being a stranded car at the side of the track just as weather conditions began to deteriorate. The results were taken from the end of the previous lap, and Fairclough claimed the win following a dominant performance on track.

After starting from third on the grid, Fairclough shot into the lead before the first corner. Poleman James Higgins lost one spot, while Rodin Motorsport team-mate Alex Ninovic dropped from second to fourth.

Higgins could not stay with Fairclough, who lowered the fastest lap multiple times on his way to victory. By the time the race was ended, he was 5.453 seconds clear up front.

Ninovic regained one spot by passing Reza Seewooruthun and spent most of the race close behind Higgins. He was unable to find a way past him and had to settle for third, while Seewooruthun dropped behind Argenti Motorsport’s Mercedes-AMG Formula 1 junior Yuanpu Cui who charged up from ninth to fourth.

After falling behind Cui, Seewooruthun spent a lot of time battling to stay in front of Jack Sherwood. The Rodin driver was briefly able to take fifth place from him, but Seewooruthun reclaimed it.

Abbie Pulling got past Ella Lloyd late in the race to finish seventh in her first British F4 race since summer 2021, with Mika Abrahams and Bart Harrison completing the top 10.

Race results (16 laps)
Pos Driver Team Time
1 Deagen Fairclough Hitech GP 17m36.709s
2 James Higgins Rodin Motorsport +5.453s
3 Alex Ninovic Rodin Motorsport +6.900s
4 Yuanpu Cui Argenti Motorsport +9.540s
5 Reza Seewooruthun Hitech GP +12.105s
6 Jack Sherwood Rodin Motorsport +13.125s
7 Abbi Pulling Rodin Motorsport +19.833s
8 Ella Lloyd JHR Developments +21.110s
9 Mika Abrahams Hitech GP +21.213s
10 Bart Harrison Chris Dittmann Racing +22.042s
11 Kai Daryanani Fortec Motorsports +23.871s
12 Rowan Campbell-Pilling Argenti Motorsport +24.315s
13 Leo Robinson JHR Developments +25.170s
14 Alex Berg Fortec Motorsports +26.158s
15 Martin Molnar Virtuosi Racing +26.820s
16 Zack Scoular Xcel Motorsport +28.596s
17 Joel Bergstrom JHR Developments +29.348s
18 Yuhao Fu Virtuosi Racing +33.289s
19 Nina Pothof Fortec Motorsports +33.934s
20 Maxwell Dodds Virtuosi Racing +34.255s
21 Chloe Chong JHR Developments +34.648s
Ret August Raber Xcel Motorsport
Fastest lap: Fairclough, 1m04.779s