Home Formula 3GB3 Kucharczyk claims dominant maiden GB3 win in Silverstone opener

Kucharczyk claims dominant maiden GB3 win in Silverstone opener

by Steve Whitfield

Photo: Jakob Ebrey Photography

Hitech GP’s Tymek Kucharczyk made good use of pole position to take a comfortable lights-to-flag victory in the opening GB3 race of the weekend at Silverstone.

The Polish racer led away at the start, while Elite Motorsport’s McKenzy Cresswell drew alongside Hitech’s Will Macintyre before snatching second on the outside of Copse.

Points leader Louis Sharp took fourth from Hitech’s Gerrard Xie, who then lost a further place to Sharp’s Rodin Motorsport team-mate Ugo Ugochukwu exiting Club corner before lap one was completed.

Kucharczyk pulled out a two-second lead over Cresswell in the first five laps, then doubled that advantage over the next four and edged further clear in the final two laps to seal his first GB3 win by 7.855 seconds.

Cresswell came home in a comfortable second, while Macintyre resisted early pressure from Sharp to take the final podium spot. Sharp’s only opportunity to pass came at the start of lap three into Copse, but he was then slow on the exit which allowed team-mate Ugochukwu to draw alongside and take fourth into Maggotts.

Sharp responded by immediately by diving back up the inside into Becketts, and the pair almost made contact when Ugochukwu got sideways on a kerb heading onto the Hangar Straight before Sharp moved back ahead at Stowe and maintained fourth until the finish.

With two laps to go Ugochukwu faded into the clutches of Xie, who tried a move on the outside of Brooklands before passing the McLaren junior on the inside at Woodcote to take the chequered flag in fifth.

Josh Irfan ran seventh early on before losing out to Velocity Racing Development by Arden’s James Hedley on lap two and the JHR Developments driver tumbled to 13th on the next lap. Hedley ran seventh until the final lap, when he wa hunted down and passed by Elite’s Jarrod Waberski into Copse.

JHR’s John Bennett, who like Hedley started from the grid’s fifth row after his tyres faded late on in qualifying, lost out on the opening lap to Rodin’s Arthur Rogeon, who had made up several places after jumping the start.

Bennett and Chris Dittmann Racing’s Martinius Stenshorne soon made it back past Rogeon, who was handed a 10s penalty and was eventually classified 16th. Meanwhile Stenshorne passed Bennett in the closing stages to finish ninth.

Race results (10 laps)
Pos Driver Team Time
1 Tymek Kucharczyk Hitech GP 19m03.166s
2 McKenzy Cresswell Elite Motorsport +7.855s
3 Will Macintyre Hitech GP +9.503s
4 Louis Sharp Rodin Motorsport +12.222s
5 Gerrard Xie Hitech GP +12.879s
6 Ugo Ugochukwu Rodin Motorsport +14.776s
7 Jarrod Waberski Elite Motorsport +16.607s
8 James Hedley VRD by Arden +17.481s
9 Martinius Stenshorne Chris Dittmann Racing +18.149s
10 John Bennett JHR Developments +20.078s
11 Patrick Heuzenroeder JHR Developments +21.350s
12 Josh Irfan JHR Developments +21.723s
13 Colin Queen Fortec Motorsports +27.669s
14 Shawn Rashid VRD by Arden +27.784s
15 Hugo Schwarze Elite Motorsport +31.127s
16 Arthur Rogeon Rodin Motorsport +31.191s
17 Edward Pearson Fortec Motorsports +32.914s
18 Aditya Kulkarni Hillspeed +34.686s
19 Seb Murray Chris Dittmann Racing +35.023s
20 James Wharton Fortec Motorsports +35.828s
21 Flynn Jackes Chris Dittmann Racing +37.002s
22 Noah Ping VRD by Arden +37.391s
Fastest lap: Kucharczyk, 1m53.367s

Championship standings
1 Sharp 103   2 Ugochukwu 84   3 Cresswell 80   4 Macintyre 77   5 Bennett 77   6 Kucharczyk 68   7 Xie 65   8 Waberski 59   9 Rogeon 41   10 Heuzenroeder 32