Home Formula RegionalFRegional European Championship FA Racing’s Bernier fastest in FREC practice at Barcelona

FA Racing’s Bernier fastest in FREC practice at Barcelona

by Ida Wood

Photo: FRECA

FA Racing’s Victor Bernier was the fastest driver across Formula Regional European Championship’s two practice sessions at Barcelona.

In FP1 there was lots of drivers who made their way to the top of the timesheet at some point, with Trident’s Roman Bilinski the first to do so with a 1m55.008s.

MP Motorsport’s Mari Boya then caused a red flag stoppage with a crash in the first sector, and after the restart team-mate Sami Megouetounif went fastest. ART Grand Prix’s Gabriele Mini then brought the pace into the 1m43s, but was only fastest for a few moments before Bilinski returned to first place.

FA Racing’s Francesco Braschi was the next surprise name to lead the way, and was fastest for a minute before Arden’s Eduardo Barrichello set a 1m43.284s. Bernier then shaved a quarter of a second off that time to go top, with Meguetounif slotting into second place.

That was also a short-lived lead as Trident’s Leonardo Fornaroli became the first driver to lap in the 1m42s, heading Hadrien David, Noel Leon, Mini and Duerksen as the top 12 drivers all improved.

Van Amersfoort Racing’s Joshua Dufek set a 1m42.334s to go fastest a few minutes later, with Bernier rising up the order and posting a 1m42.504s lap to go second fastest.

R-ace GP’s David was next to top the times, setting a 1m42.178s at the half-hour mark before many drivers chose to pit. Bernier was still improving, reclaiming second place before another red flag period that occurred after Piotr Wisnicki stopped and then Nicola Marinangeli hit trouble.

Eventually the session restarted, and there were a few improvements with 10 minutes left on the clock. Even more were to come once the chequered flag waved, as David and then Bernier moved to the top.

Bernier was fastest again in FP2. Bilinski started on top once more, with Mini following as the fastest driver. He was shuffled out of top spot by Pierre-Louis Chovet with 13 minutes to go, then Bernier bettered the FP1 pace by setting a 1m41.289s. After that he was able to go even faster with a 1m41.097s lap, putting him comfortably clear at the top.

Slowest in practice was Prema’s Amna Al Qubaisi, who was 8.491s off the pace.

Free practice results
Pos Driver Team Time Gap Laps
1 Victor Bernier FA Racing by MP 1m41.097s 33
2 Leonardo Fornaroli Trident 1m41.462s +0.365s 36
3 Hadrien David R-ace GP 1n41.663s +0.566s 37
4 Dilano van’t Hoff MP Motorsport 1m41.664s +0.567s 35
5 Kas Haverkort Van Amersfoort Racing 1m41.685s +0.588s 36
6 Paul Aron Prema 1m41.695s +0.598s 34
7 Gabriel Bortoleto R-ace GP 1m41.799s +0.702s 35
8 Gabriele Mini ART Grand Prix 1m41.819s +0.722s 32
9 Pierre-Louis Chovet R-P-M 1m41.822s +0.725s 33
10 Levente Revesz Van Amerfoort Racing 1m41.847s +0.750s 37
11 Laiurens van Hoepen ART Grand Prix 1m41.848s +0.751s 34
12 Francesco Braschi FA Racing by MP 1m41.860s +0.763s 33
13 Dino Beganovic Prema 1m41.876s +0.779s 23
14 Joshua Duerksen Arden 1m41.876s +0.779s 36
15 Noel Leon Arden 1m41.883s +0.786s 35
16 Sami Meguetounif MP Motorsprt 1m41.896s +0.799s 34
17 Eduardo Barrichello Arden 1m41.935s +0.838s 34
18 Joshua Dufek Van Amersfoort Racing 1m41.983s +0.886s 37
19 Tim Tramnitz Trident 1m42.050s +0.953s 38
20 Maceo Capietto Monolite Racing 1m42.055s +0.958s 34
21 Roman Bilinski Trident 1m42.160s +1.063s 37
22 Esteban Masson ART Grand Prix 1m42.237s +1.140s 33
23 Mari Boya MP Motorsport 1m42.314s +1.217s 28
24 Matias Zagazeta G4 Racing 1m42.356s +1.259s 35
25 Sebastian Montoya Prema 1m42.376s +1.279s 34
26 Owen Tangavelou R-P-M 1m42.402s +1.305s 37
27 Santiago Ramos KIC Motorsport 1m42.526s +1.429s 33
28 Nicolas Baptiste FA Racing by MP 1m42.534s +1.437s 33
29 Sebastian Ogaard KIC Motorsport 1m42.793s +1.696s 33
30 Pietro Armanni Monolite Racing 1m42.840s +1.743s 34
31 Axel Gnos G4 Racing 1m43.090s +2.002s 39
32 Lorenzo Fluxa R-ace GP 1m43.178s +2.081s 31
33 Piotr Wisnicki KIC Motorsport 1m43.688s +2.591s 34
34 Nicola Marinangeli Monolite Racing 1m46.538s +5.441s 6
35 Amna Al Qubaisi Prema 1m49.588s +8.491s 30