Home Formula RegionalFRegional European Championship F3 racer Alatalo joins FREC finale, Bortoleto tops testing

F3 racer Alatalo joins FREC finale, Bortoleto tops testing

by Ida Wood

Photo: Diederick van der Laan / DPPA

R-ace GP’s Gabriel Bortoleto was fastest in Formula Regional European Championship’s pre-event test session at Mugello on Thursday morning.

Bortoleto went to the top of the times half an hour into the four-hour session, setting a 2m43.861s lap. In the next 20 minutes he improved several times, and led the way with a 1m43.149s when the first red flag of the day occurred as Owen Tangavelou hit trouble.

Bortoleto could go no faster once the session resumed, and he ended the first hour with team-mate Hadrien David behind him in second place.

David was able to improve his pace shortly after, but then could not better a 1m43.502s effort set 65 minutes in until the final few minutes where he made a gain of three thousandths of a second.

By that point he had been shuffled down to ninth place, with Prema’s Paul Aron taking over second place before the 90-minute mark and remaining there until Race Performance Motorsport’s Pierre-Louis Chovet set a 1m43.243s late on.

Kas Haverkort, Dino Beganovic and Tim Tramnitz were all within two tenths of a second of Bortoleto, and all set their fastest laps in the first half of the session.

KIC Motorsport’s Sebastian Ogaard stopped on track in the middle of the morning, and Prema’s Amna Al Qubaisi also faced issues that left her stranded on the circuit. Santiago Ramos has left KIC for R-P-M this weekend, and KIC has replaced him with FIA Formula 3 racer William Alatalo, who was 11th in FREC last year.

Test results
Pos Driver Team Time Gap Laps
1 Gabriel Bortoleto R-ace GP 1m43.149s 37
2 Pierre-Louis Chovet R-P-M 1m43.243s +0.094s 38
3 Paul Aron Prema 1m43.282s +0.133s 43
4 Kas Haverkort VAR 1m43.303s +0.154s 47
5 Dino Beganovic Prema 1m43.335s +0.186s 43
6 Tim Tramnitz Trident 1m43.348s +0.199s 45
7 Leonardo Fornaroli Trident 1m43.393s +0.244s 46
8 Santiago Ramos R-P-M 1m43.453s +0.304s 34
9 Hadrien David R-ace GP 1m43.499s +0.350s 43
10 Esteban Masson ART Grand Prix 1m43.506s +0.357s 55
11 Lorenzo Fluxa R-ace GP 1m43.570s +0.421s 46
12 Laiurens van Hoepen ART Grand Prix 1m43.697s +0.548s 56
13 Gabriele Mini ART Grand Prix 1m43.713s +0.564s 54
14 Joshua Dufek VAR 1m43.812s +0.663s 36
15 Levente Revesz VAR 1m43.937s +0.788s 46
16 Maceo Capietto Monolite Racing 1m43.942s +0.793s 58
17 Joshua Duerksen Arden 1m43.983s +0.834s 38
18 Dilano van’t Hoff MP Motorsport 1m44.050s +0.901s 31
19 Noel Leon Arden 1m44.058s +0.909s 40
20 Francesco Braschi Monolite Racing 1m44.165s +1.016s 42
21 Sami Meguetounif MP Motorsport 1m44.222s +1.073s 33
22 Sebastian Montoya Prema 1m44.280s +1.131s 40
23 William Alatalo KIC Motorsport 1m44.321s +1.172s 39
24 Eduardo Barrichello Arden 1m44.450s +1.301s 41
25 Matias Zagazeta G4 Racing 1m44.495s +1.346s 47
26 Mari Boya MP Motorsport 1m44.529s +1.380s 36
27 Pietro Armanni Monolite Racing 1m44.551s +1.402s 57
28 Nicolas Baptiste FA Racing by MP 1m44.585s +1.436s 44
29 Nicola Marinangeli Monolite Racing 1m44.661s +1.512s 49
30 Victor Bernier FA Racing by MP 1m44.724s +1.575s 30
31 Roman Bilinski Trident 1m44.893s +1.744s 40
32 Piotr Wisnicki KIC Motorsport 1m44.970s +1.821s 45
33 Owen Tangavelou R-P-M 1m45.052s +1.903s 16
34 Axel Gnos G4 Racing 1m45.408s +2.259s 40
35 Sebastian Ogaard KIC Motorsport 1m45.492s +2.343s 39
36 Amna Al Qubaisi Prema 1m47.030s +3.881s 31