Home Formula 4Italian F4 Dunne fastest in Italian F4 practice, two new names join grid

Dunne fastest in Italian F4 practice, two new names join grid

by Ida Wood

Photo: ACI Sport

US Racing’s Alex Dunne set the pace in the first Italian Formula 4 free practice session at Mugello on Thursday afternoon.

Initially it was AKM Motorsport’s drivers that set the pace with Ruiqu Liu setting an early benchmark which team-mate Valerio Rinicella improved on three times to keep himself at the top of the timesheet.

BVM Racing’s Alfio Spina was the first non-AKM driver to go quickest, setting a 1m50.111s lap. He was only in first place for 26 seconds before US Racing’s Marcus Amand crossed the line and became the first driver to lap sub-1m50s.

Andrea Kimi Antonelli shaved three tenths of a second off Amand’s benchmark as he completed his next lap, then Dunne went four tenths up on Antonelli half a minute after.

Dunne stayed on top until the end of the session, improving two more times to end with a best effort of 1m48.500s.

There was a red flag period during the session when PHM Racing’s Viktoria Blokhina went off into the gravel.

At the very end of FP1, Van Amersfoort Racing’s Martinius Stenshorne and Antonelli jumped up to second and third, shuffling Arvid Lindblad (VAR) and Kacper Sztuka (US) down to fourth and fifth.

Returning to the grid this weekend with Prema is McLaren junior Ugo Ugochukwu, while US Racing’s line-up changes with Zachary David not present and Ginetta Junior driver Akshay Bohra making his F4 debut in his place.

Monlau Motorsport’s line-up expands to three cars with NACAM F4 race-winner Jesse Carrasquedo Jr joining.

Free practice results

Pos Driver Team Time Gap Laps
1 Alex Dunne US Racing 1m48.500s 14
2 Martinius Stenshorne Van Amersfoort Racing 1m48.830s +0.330s 15
3 Andrea Kimi Antonelli Prema 1m48.928s +0.428s 14
4 Arvid Lindblad Van Amersfoort Racing 1m49.007s +0.507s 14
5 Kacper Sztuka US Racing 1m49.027s +0.527s 14
6 Brando Badoer Van Amersfoort Racing 1m49.113s +0.613s 15
7 Marcus Amand US Racing 1m49.317s +0.817s 15
8 Rafael Camara Prema 1m49.349s +0.849s 14
9 Charlie Wurz Prema 1m49.370s +0.870s 15
10 Ugo Ugochukwu Prema 1m49.400s +0.900s 14
11 Nikhil Bohra US Racing 1m49.491s +0.991s 15
12 Taylor Barnard PHM Racing 1m49.636s +1.136s 13
13 Conrad Laursen Prema 1m49.790s +1.290s 12
14 Emmo Fittipaldi Van Amersfoort Racing 1m49.802s +1.302s 14
15 Valerio Rinicella AKM Motorsport 1m49.814s +1.314s 14
16 James Wharton Prema 1m49.871s +1.371s 14
17 Niko Lacorte Iron Lynx 1m49.885s +1.385s 14
18 Alfio Spina BVM Racing 1m49.936s +1.436s 16
19 Nikita Bedrin PHM Racing 1m49.945s +1.445s 14
20 Maya Weug Iron Lynx 1m49.990s +1.490s 14
21 Valentin Kluss Jenzer Motorsport 1m50.153s +1.653s 11
22 Ivan Domingues Iron Lynx 1m50.266s +1.766s 14
23 Jules Castro VAR 1m50.300s +1.800s 12
24 Akshay Bohra US Racing 1m50.301s +1.801s 14
25 Jef Machiels Monlau Motorsport 1m50.498s +1.998s 16
26 Elia Sperandio Maffi Racing 1m50.665s +2.165s 15
27 William Karlsson BVM Racing 1m50.775s +2.275s 15
28 Ruiqu Liu AKM Motorsport 1m50.780s +2.280s 16
29 Jonas Ried PHM Racing 1m50.988s +2.488s 12
30 Frederik Lund R-ace GP 1m51.053s +2.553s 14
31 Ethan Ischer Jenzer Motorsport 1m51.065s +2.565s 13
32 Alex Partyshev Jenzer Motorsport 1m51.121s +2.621s 13
33 Giovanni Maschio AS Motorsport 1m51.162s +2.662s 15
34 Nandhavud Bhirombhakdi Jenzer Motorsport 1m51.262s +2.762s 14
35 Jesse Carrasquedo Jr Monlau Motorsport 1m51.419s +2.919s 5
36 Andrea Frassineti Cars Racing 1m51.727s +3.227s 15
37 Niels Koolen Monlau Motorsport 1m51.968s +3.468s 10
38 Georgios Markogiannis Cram Motorsport 1m52.071s +3.571s 14
39 Viktoria Blokhina PHM Racing 1m52.097s +3.597s 11
40 Ismail Akhmed AKM Motorsport 1m54.471s +5.971s 15
41 Pedro Perino US Racing no time 0