Home Featured F2 points leader Pourchaire gets second pole of 2023 at Monza

F2 points leader Pourchaire gets second pole of 2023 at Monza

by Ida Wood

Photo: Formula Motorsport Ltd

Formula 2 points leader Theo Pourchaire claimed his second pole position of 2023 in qualifying at Monza.

It was not until 12 minutes into the half-hour session that a laptime was set, with drivers even passing through the pits without stopping prior to that, and it was Campos Racing’s Kush Maini who set the pace.

His 1m32.882s put him 0.108 seconds ahead of Virtuosi Racing’s Jack Doohan, with Van Amersfoort Racing’s Richard Verschoor a further 0.001s behind in third.

Maini was shuffled down to fourth less than a minute later as ART Grand Prix’s practice pacesetter Victor Martins set a 1m32.423s and Hitech GP’s Isack Hadjar and Trident’s Roman Stanek also beat Maini’s benchmark.

Prema’s Frederik Vesti went fifth fastest, several places ahead of title rival Pourchaire, but then was knocked down to eighth.

ART GP driver Pourchaire lowered the pace to 1m32.328s and Ollie Bearman went second fastest with a 1m32.487s as Martins’ best lap was deleted, and Hadjar improved to 1m32.535s in third. Martins’ next-best effort, a 1m32.538s, put him fourth.

Everyone then headed back to the pits to replace their tyres, but Hitech GP’s Jak Crawford did not get to start his next run as his car was surrounded by fie extinguishers while in the pitlane.

Those who did return to track all bunched up and therefore denied themselves the opportunity to improve their pace straight away.

Campos’s Ralph Boschung found space on his own and went 10th fastest, then after the chequered flag Stanek snatched third fom Hadjar by 0.001s.

MP Motorsport’s Dennis Hauger also improved to qualify 11th, with team-mate Jehan Daruvala going 16th fastest.

Despite not improving, Pourchaire secured pole by 0.159s over rookie Bearman.

Qualifying results
Pos Driver Team Time Gaps Laps
1 Theo Pourchaire ART Grand Prix 1m32.328s 8
2 Ollie Bearman Prema 1m32.487s +0.159s 8
3 Roman Stanek Trident 1m32.534s +0.206s 10
4 Isack Hadjar Hitech GP 1m32.535s +0.207s 8
5 Victor Martins ART Grand Prix 1m32.538s +0.210s 8
6 Roy Nissany PHM by Charouz 1m32.542s +0.214s 8
7 Jak Crawford Hitech GP 1m32.557s +0.229s 6
8 Frederik Vesti Prema 1m32.599s +0.271s 8
9 Richard Verschoor Van Amersfoort Racing 1m32.640s +0.312s 9
10 Ralph Boschung Campos Racing 1m32.655s +0.327s 9
11 Dennis Hauger MP Motorsport 1m32.749s +0.421s 9
12 Arthur Leclerc DAMS 1m32.752s +0.424s 9
13 Enzo Fittipaldi Carlin 1m32.809s +0.481s 8
14 Jack Doohan Virtuosi Racing 1m32.848s +0.520s 8
15 Ayumu Iwasa DAMS 1m32.883s +0.555s 8
16 Jehan Daruvala MP Motorsport 1m33.120s +0.792s 9
17 Roy Nissany PHM by Charouz 1m33.188s +0.860s 9
18 Juan Manuel Correa Van Amersfoort Racing 1m33.210s +0.882s 9
19 Amaury Cordeel Virtuosi Racing 1m33.269s +0.941s 8
20 Zane Maloney Carlin 1m33.401s +1.073s 9
21 Clement Novalak Trident 1m33.474s +1.146s 9
22 Josh Mason PHM by Charouz 1m34.385s +2.057s 8