Home News Eves sets test pace ahead of USF Pro 2000’s sole oval race of season

Eves sets test pace ahead of USF Pro 2000’s sole oval race of season

by Ida Wood

Photo: Gavin Baker Photography

Exclusive Autosport’s Braden Eves was fastest in pre-event testing for USF Pro 2000’s sole oval race of the season, the Freedom 90.

The test was split into two 45-minute sessions on Wednesday and two on Thursday at Indianapolis Raceway Park.

Turn 3 Motorsport’s Danny Dyszelski topped session one, setting a 20.1928s on the 47th of his 78 laps to lead the way by 0.023 seconds over TJ Speed’s Bryce Aron who is stepping down from Indy Nxt this weekend to make his oval racing debut.

Velocity Racing Development’s points leader Nikita Johnson was third, 0.0604s behind, with TJ Speed’s Francesco Pizzi and Turn 3’s Lochie Hughes completing a top five covered by 0.1886s. In the 19-car field, only two drivers were more than 0.76s slower than Dyszelski.

Johnson lowered the pace to 19.752s in session two, with Turn 3’s Ethan Ho, Pizzi and Hughes also breaking the 20s barrier. There was a 0.034s gap between the top two, Pizzi was also within 0.1s of Johnson and again the only two drivers not at a competitive pace were FatBoy Racing!’s Charles Finelli and Jay Howard Driver Devlopment’s Frankie Mossman.

Pabst Racing’s Christian Brooks was the sole non-improver, and team-mate Jace Denmark skipped the session.

Ho set a 19.8066s to top session three by 0.0135s over Eves. Johnson and Hughes were just 0.0164s and 0.0458s behind. Eight drivers failed to set personal bests, including Ho and Johnson.

The fastest laps came in session four (except for BN Racing’s Ricardo Escotto, Pizzi, Ho and absent team-mate Tyke Durst), with Eves posting a 19.6207s laptime. Dyszelski and Johnson were 0.0553s and 0.0572s off the top in second and third, Clark was 0.1583s behind in fourth and 0.976s covered the whole field.

USF2000 was also testing at IRP to prepare for its sole oval race, the Freedom 75, with a similar session schedule.

Less than 0.1s split the top five in session one, and VRD’s Xavier Kokai led three Pabst drivers. He set a 21.7448s to be fastest by 0.0058s over Max Garcia, with a 0.0187s gap to Sam Corry and 0.0272s to Hudson Schwartz.

Kokai improved to 21.3623s in session two, and DC Autosport’s Ayrton Houk – 13th in session one – was 0.0838s behind in second. VRD’s Max Taylor was third, and along with Corry and Garcia was within 0.19s of Kokai. Everyone on track set personal bests, while Schwartz and DEForce’s Maxwell Jamieson were absent.

Corry came to the fore in session three, setting a 21.2817s. He had a 0.0541s gap to Houk, 0.0586s to Taylor and 0.0611s to Garcia. JHDD’s Michael Costello was fifth, with Kokai down in ninth. He and the DEForce quartet of Quinn Armstrong, Lucas Fecury, Brady Golan and Jamieson all failed to improve.

Laptimes were even faster in session four, and DEForce’s Nicolas Giaffone jumped up from ninth place to end testing on top with a 21.1567s. Houk improved slightly in second, Armstrong was third and JHDD’s Evagoras Papasavvas was fourth in the session.

Kokai was absent due to a crash, while Corry, Taylor, Garcia, Costello, Schwartz, Exclusive’s Joey Brienza and Golan all failed to find more pace. The gap between first and last in the test’s overall classification was 0.6850s.

Test results

Pos Driver Team Time Gap Laps
1 Braden Eves Exclusive Autosport 19.6207s 162
2 Danny Dyszelski Turn 3 Motorsport 19.6760s +0.0553s 222
3 Nikita Johnson VRD 19.6779s +0.0572s 216
4 Mac Clark DEForce Racing 19.7790s +0.1583s 169
5 Ethan Ho Turn 3 Motorsport 19.7860s +0.1653s 225
6 Bryce Aron TJ Speed 19.7863s +0.1656s 193
7 Lochie Hughes Turn 3 Motorsport 19.8357s +0.2150s 196
8 Francesco Pizzi TJ Speed 19.8477s +0.2270s 166
9 Jorge Garciarce DEForce Racing 20.1597s +0.5390s 207
10 Liam Sceats TJ Speed 20.1621s +0.5414s 219
11 Nicholas Monteiro DEForce Racing 20.1915s +0.5708s 198
12 Ricardo Escotto BN Racing 20.1914s +0.5707s 235
13 Frankie Mossman JHDD 20.2044s +0.5837s 191
14 Christian Brooks Pabst Racing 20.2919s +0.6712s 277
15 Jace Denmark Pabst Racing 20.3250s +0.7043s 219
16 Nicolas Baptiste BN Racing 20.3281s +0.7074s 225
17 Simon Sikes Pabst Racing 20.3312s +0.7105s 314
18 Tyke Durst Turn 3 Motorsport 20.4970s +0.8763s 125
19 Charles Finelli FatBoy Racing! 20.5967s +0.9760s 248
1 Nicolas Giaffone DEForce Racing 21.1567s 206
2 Sam Corry Pabst Racing 21.2817s +0.1250s 247
3 Ayrton Houk DC Autosport 21.3300s +0.1733s 194
4 Max Taylor VRD 21.3403s +0.1836s 214
5 Max Garcia Pabst Racing 21.3428s +0.1861s 286
6 Xavier Kokai VRD 21.3623s +0.2056s 122
7 Quinn Armstrong DEForce Racing 21.3704s +0.2137s 216
8 Evagoras Papasavvas JHDD 21.3994s +0.2377s 223
9 Michael Costello JHDD 21.4394s +0.2827s 272
10 Hudson Schwartz Pabst Racing 21.5213s +0.3646s 184
11 Elliot Cox SFHRD 21.5293s +0.3726s 220
12 G3 Argyros JHDD 21.5873s +0.4306s 194
13 Joey Brienza Exclusive Autosport 21.5999s +0.4432s 226
14 Tanner DeFabis JHDD 21.6192s +0.4625s 183
15 Carson Etter DC Autosport 21.6687s +0.5120s 174
16 Brady Golan DEForce Racing 21.6713s +0.5146s 239
17 Lucas Fecury DEForce Racing 21.6921s +0.5354s 203
18 Maxwell Jamieson DEForce Racing 21.8417s +0.6850s 154