Home Formula RegionalEurocup-3 Esteban Masson wins in Eurocup-3 at Motorland Aragon

Esteban Masson wins in Eurocup-3 at Motorland Aragon

by Ida Wood

Photo: Eurocup-3

Campos Racing’s Esteban Masson won race one of the second round of the new Eurocup-3 championship at Motorland Aragon.

He was fastest in both practice sessions, setting the pace by 0.326 seconds over MP Motorsport’s Bruno del Pino and 0.337s over Campos team-mate Francesco Braschi.

There were 14 cars entered, but Global Racing Service’s Cenyu Han and Drivex School’s Branden Lee Oxley did not set any laps in either session.

Masson did not maintain his advantage into qualifying, as he was pipped to top spot by team-mate Tasanapol Inthraphuvasak. He was fastest by 0.073s over Masson, with MP’s Sebastian Ogaard 0.099s back in third and del Pino only 0.165s off the pace in fourth. As in practice, only 12 cars took part.

Inthraphuvasak and Masson fought off the line, and the poleman kept his lead into turn one. There was a change of position for fourth, as Javier Sagrera passed del Pino.

The top three, completed by MP’s Sebastian Ogaard, broke away from the rest of the field while battles continued to take place behind. On lap three there was a three-wide battle for fourth that led to all three cars going off, then at the start of lap four they attempted the same and it resulted in Sagrera spinning down to the back of the order at turn one while Braschi assumed fourth place.

Jose Garfias took fifth from del Pino on the next lap, then Inthraphuvasak’s 2.365s lead reduced to nothing as his car started slowing with an issue and he was down to 10th before making it to the pits at the end of the lap.

That meant Masson now lead by 2.8s over Ogaard, and he grew that to 3.4s before Nick Gilkes crashed out and the safety car was summoned.

Sagrera went to the pits to retire at the restart, while Masson had a great run that meant he created a gap of 1.347s over Ogaard within a lap. He extended that 3.5s in the next two laps, and was still improving his pace as he set the fastest lap on the penultimate lap.

He ended up claiming victory by 4.781s, while through the final two laps Ogaard had to check his mirrors for the threat of Braschi.

Race result (16 laps)
Pos Driver Team Gap
1 Esteban Masson Campos Racing
2 Sebastian Ogaard MP Motorsport +4.781s
3 Francesco Braschi Campos Racing +6.507s
4 Jose Garfias MP Motorsport +7.041s
5 Bruno del Pino MP Motorsport +8.308s
6 Sebastian Gravlund MP Motorsport +12.148s
7 Suleiman Zanfari Campos Racing +14.593s
8 Miron Pingasov Palou Motorsport +15.169s
9 William Karlsson Drivex School +27.432s
Ret Javier Sagrera Palou Motorsport
Ret Nick Gilkes Drivex School
Ret Tasanapol Inthraphuvasak Campos Racing
Fastest lap: Masson, 1m56.000s

Championship standings
1 Braschi 60   2 Mari Boya 41   3 Masson 40   4 Ogaard 32   5 Garfias 20   6 Cenyu Han 18   Zanfari 18   8 Sagrera 15   9 Pierre-Louis Chovet 14   10 del Pino 14