Home News Deligny earns first Spanish F4 win after Ho gets track limits penalty

Deligny earns first Spanish F4 win after Ho gets track limits penalty

by Ida Wood

Photo: Red Bull Content Pool

The Spanish Formula 4 championship had a crazy opening day of action at Motorland Aragon, which finished with Enzo Deligny taking his maiden car racing win.

There were two practice sessions in the morning, and the first was interrupted by red flags. Campos Racing’s Christian Ho was fastest at that point, which was 10 minutes from the end, although during the stoppage he had his fastest lap deleted.

After the restart his team-mate Andres Cardenas was handed a three-minute stop-go penalty, then in the last four minutes Pedro Clerot (MP Motorsport), Carl Bennett (Global Racing Service) and Cardenas got black flagged.

Ho was displaced from the top with 16 seconds left of the session, as MP’s Valerio Rinicella set a 1m59.979s to go fastest.

A hungry Ho struck back in FP2, setting a 1m59.729s that made him fastest by 0.215s over Sainteloc Racing’s Theophile Nael. Rinicella was among the eight drivers in the 32-car field not to improve their pace in the second session, while track limits abuse meant the stewards were busy handing out punishments.

Bennett got a stop-go penalty then was black flagged, while Drivex School’s Juan Cota, Daniel Nogales and Maxi Restrepo all got three-minute stop-go penalties before being black flagged.

Alessandro Silvaggi (Cram Motorsport), Alvise Rodella (MP) and Griffin Peebles (Tecnicar Motorsport) joined the list of drivers who got three-minute stop-go penalties, while Deligny, Keanu Al Azhari (MP), Eric Gene (Tecnicar), Nael, Luciano Morano (Sainteloc) and Hiyu Yamakoshi (Tecnicar) all got black flagged.

The pace was slightly slower in qualifying, as Ho took race one pole with a 2m00.007s lap. He was 0.157s faster than Deligny in second place, with 28 of the 32 drivers having laps deleted over track limits violations.

Ho converted pole into a lights-to-flag win, only for the issue of track limits to get in the way again. He was one of seven drivers to be penalised two seconds for repeated track limits abuse, and it cost him victory to Deigny by 0.924s.

Deligny had pressured Ho for a few laps in the final third of the race, but Ho responded towards the end. However with the penalty notice not coming through until it was too late, he did not push to make a gap big enough to secure victory.

Rinicella pressured Campos’s Noah Stromsted over third place for much of the race but could not get past, while Matteo De Palo and Jesse Carrasquedo Jr fought race-long over what would be seventh. Carrasquedo snatched the position at the end, only for a track limits penalty to drop him back behind.

On the penultimate lap, Al Azhari’s car came to a stop on track and he retired from fifth place.

Race result (16 laps)
Pos Driver Team Gap
1 Enzo Deligny Campos Racing 32m21.182s
2 Christian Ho Campos Racing +0.924s
3 Noah Stromsted Campos Racing +4.043s
4 Valerio Rinicella MP Motorsport +5.781s
5 Theophile Nael Sainteloc Racing +10.467s
6 Andres Cardneas Campos Racing +10.651s
7 Matteo De Palo Campos Racing +20.051s
8 Jesse Carrasquedo Jr Campos Racing +21.484s
9 Hiyu Yamakoshi Tecnicar Motorsport +24.361s
10 Pedro Clerot MP Motorsport +24.943s
11 Alex Ninovic Carlin +26.982s
12 Jeronimo Berrio MP Motorsport +27.685s
13 Noah Lisle Carlin +30.120s
14 Ricardo Gracia Monlau Motorsport +30.332s
15 Griffin Peebles Tecnicar Motorsport +31.181s
16 Luciano Morano Sainteloc Racing +33.215s
17 Alexander Abkkhazava Drivex School +34.549s
18 Theodor Jensen Sainteloc Racing +38.426s
19 Pablo Sarrazin Monlau Motorsport +40.556s
20 Carl Bennett GRS +41.328s
21 Eric Gene Tecnicar Motorsport +42.223s
22 Flavio Olivieri Cram Motorsport +47.533s
23 Alvise Rodella MP Motorsport +48.434s
24 Juan Cota Drivex School +49.235s
25 George Zhuravskiy Drivex School +51.243s
26 Lin Hodenius Monlau Motorsport +57.978s
27 Maxi Restrepo Drivex School +1m24.078s
28 Federico Al Rifai Carlin +1m26.976s
29 Alessandro Silvaggi Cram Motorsport +1m27.730s
30 Keanu Al Azhari MP Motorsport +1m36.422s
31 Fernando Barrichello Monlau Motorsport +5 laps
Ret Daniel Nogales Drivex School
Pole: Ho, 2m00.007s   Fastest lap: Deligny, 2m00.362s

Championship standings
1 Clerot 64   2 Ho 55   3 De Palo 38   4 Deligny 36   5 Nael 36   6 Stromsted 33   7 Rinicella 29   8 Al-Azhai 27   9 Lisle 16   10 Berrio 16