Home Formula 4ADAC F4 Eriksson beats Mawson in second race at Lausitz

Eriksson beats Mawson in second race at Lausitz

by Valentin Khorounzhiy
Photo: Gruppe C GmbH

Photo: Gruppe C GmbH

Having been parked for the opening race of the ADAC F4 weekend at Lausitz, Joel Eriksson rebounded in style by winning race two.

Eriksson pulled off a late pass on Joseph Mawson to take his fifth win of the season and strengthen his championship lead.

HTP’s Marvin Dienst was on pole again, having let the lead slip off the line in race one. This time around, things were even worse for the German, who briefly stalled and allowed 12 cars past.

With Mawson entering turn one in first, Eriksson followed suit, albeit nearly threw it away a couple of corners later by catching the gravel out of turn two.

However, he held on and was soon all over the Aussie leader, staying within half a second lap after lap.

Behind the battling duo, Janneau Esmeijer was running in third, followed by Mucke trio of David Beckmann, Robert Shwartzman and Mike David Ortmann.

Beckmann, however, would soon find the barriers in the final corner, destroying his right-side suspension.

With 12 minutes to go, Shwartzman overtook Esmeijer for third into turn one and the order was subsequently frozen due to a safety car.

The stoppage was caused by Glenn Rupp, who tried to pass Luca Engstler round the outside, but spun and beached his car.

When the race got going again with a little less than five minutes on the clock, Eriksson judged the restart perfectly, dashing to the inside line of Mawson on the main straight and taking the lead into T1.

The Swede then maintained first place long enough for the second safety car period, brought out by Michelle Halder, to end the race.

Mawson took second, ahead of Shwartzman, who recorded his fifth consecutive podium finish.

Esmeijer settled for fourth, ahead of Ortmann and a recovering Dienst, who managed to pass Neuhauser duo Tim Zimmermann and Kim-Luis Schramm.

Schramm ended up slipping down to ninth, behind Michael Waldherr, who produced an inspiring race from 33rd on the grid, and ahead of Jannes Fittje.

Race results
Pos. Driver Team Time/Gap
1 Joel Eriksson Motopark 19 laps in 28:50.942
2 Joseph Mawson Van Amersfoort Racing +0.572
3 Robert Schwartzman Mucke Motorsport +0.885
4 Janneau Esmeijer HTP Junior Team +1.333
5 Mike David Ortmann Mucke Motorsport +1.814
6 Marvin Dienst HTP Junior Team +2.340
7 Tim Zimmermann Neuhauser Racing +3.275
8 Michael Waldherr Motopark +4.057
9 Kim-Luis Schramm Neuhauser Racing +4.445
10 Jannes Fittje Motopark +4.981
11 Arlind Hoti Jenzer Motorsport +5.362
12 Jan Jonck RS Competition +5.772
13 Toni Wolf Piro Sports +6.165
14 Mauro Auricchio Team Timo Scheider +6.924
15 Nikolaj Rogivue SMG Swiss Motorsport Group +7.436
16 Mick Schumacher Van Amersfoort Racing +8.656
17 Yan Leon Shlom Team Timo Scheider +9.194
18 David Kolkmann Jenzer Motorsport +10.077
19 Carrie Schreiner HTP Junior Team +11.224
20 Job van Uitert Privateer +11.939
21 Luca Engstler Engstler Motorsport +12.394
22 Giorgio Maggi SMG Swiss Motorsport Group +12.995
23 Marylin Niederhauser Race Performance +14.942
24 Jonathan Cecotto Motopark +15.590
Not classified
Cedric Piro Piro Sports +3 laps
Michelle Halder Liqui Moly Team Engstler +3 laps
Benjamin Mazatis Mucke Motorsport +7 laps
Glenn Rupp RS Competition +8 laps
Robin Brezina Privateer +10 laps
Moritz Muller-Crepon Jenzer Motorsport +11 laps
David Beckmann Mucke Motorsport +12 laps
Jason Kremer Team Timo Scheider +14 laps
Marek Bockmann Jenzer Motorsport +16 laps
Harrison Newey Van Amersfoort Racing +18 laps