Home News Enaam Ahmed back in a single-seater in Super Formula rookie test

Enaam Ahmed back in a single-seater in Super Formula rookie test

by Ida Wood

Photo: Super Formula

Enaam Ahmed drove for B-MAX Racing with Motopark on day one of Super Formula’s post-season Fuji Speedway rookie test, marking his first driving since leaving the FIA Formula 3 Championship.

After a race-winning campaign in SF’s supporting Super Formula Lights series with B-MAX in 2019, London-based Ahmed returned to Europe this year to race in FIA F3. His season only lasted three rounds before he left, and he has not raced since.

The 20-year-old was one of three drivers in action for B-MAX on the first day of the test, with team boss DRAGON and Formula Regional Japanese Championship racer Nobuhiro Imada also sampling the team’s cars.

The driver who set the pace was newly crowned three-time SF champion Naoki Yamamoto, who was driving for Nakajima Racing rather than his usual Dandelion Racing outfit.

His Tuesday morning benchmark of a 1m20.338s was 0.149 seconds faster than usual team-mate Nirei Fukuzumi’s afternoon best.

Besides the B-MAX crew, the other ‘rookies’ to take part in the test included new SF Lights champion Ritomo Miyata at TOM’S, who is all but guaranteed a full-time SF promotion next year after starring in his first two races in 2020, FRJC champion Sena Sakaguchi at INGING and SF Lights racer Shunsuke Kohno at ROOKIE Racing.

Miyata was fastest in the SF Lights test that ran alongside on Tuesday, heading Rn-sports’ Atsushi Miyake – the 2019 Japanese Formula 4 runner-up – by 0.142s.

B-MAX’s ex-Formula V8 3.5 racer Yu Kanamaru was third fastest, ahead of Kohno (RS Fine) and TOM’S-driving Toyota proteges Hibiki Taira, who is the new Japanese F4 champion, and Kazuto Kotaka.

Test results
Pos Driver Team Time Gap Laps
1 Naoki Yamamoto Nakajima Racing 1m20.338s 81
2 Nirei Fukuzumi Dandelion Racing 1m20.487s +0.149s 94
3 Tomoki Nojiri Team Mugen 1m20.501s +0.163s 75
4 Toshiki Oyu Nakajima Racing 1m20.648s +0.310s 84
5 Sho Tsuboi INGING 1m20.838s +0.500s 88
6 Ritomo Miyata TOM’S 1m20.850s +0.512s 101
7 Tatiana Calderon ThreeBond w/ Drago Corse 1m20.935s +0.597s 70
8 Ryo Hirakawa Team Impul 1m21.252s +0.914s 84
9 Kazuki Nakajima TOM’S 1m21.380s +1.042s 107
10 Sena Sakaguchi INGING 1m21.393s +1.055s 98
11 Kazuya Oshima ROOKIE Racing 1m21.434s +1.096s 37
12 Sacha Fenestraz Kondo Racing 1m21.520s +1.182s 103
13 Yuji Kunimoto KCMG 1m21.560s +1.222s 71
14 Kenta Yamashita Kondo Racing 1m21.588s +1.250s 98
15 Kamui Kobayashi KCMG 1m22.010s +1.672s 85
16 Enaam Ahmed B-MAX Racing w/ Motopark 1m22.186s +1.848s 94
17 Shunsuke Kohno ROOKIE Racing 1m23.003s +2.665s 51
18 Nobuhiro Imada B-MAX Racing w/ Motopark 1m24.571s +4.233s 48
19 DRAGON B-MAX Racing w/ Motopark 1m25.580s +5.242s 24