Home Formula 4Italian F4 Edgar wins restarted Italian F4 finale in Vallelunga rain

Edgar wins restarted Italian F4 finale in Vallelunga rain

by Ida Wood

Photo: Red Bull Content Pool

Van Amersfoort Racing’s Jonny Edgar won the restarted Italian Formula 4 season finale at a wet Vallelunga, in a safety car-filled shortened again by a red flag.

Torrential rain that flooded the circuit meant the first attempt at the race was called off after less than a lap, and the second attempt ran behind the safety car for several laps before the drivers were free to race.

Prema’s Gabriel Bortoleto got a great start from pole, while US Racing’s Ollie Bearman quickly passed AKM Motorsport’s Taylor Barnard for second. As the cars approached the first braking zone it was series champion Gabriele Mini and Edgar who looked the most confidence and passed several cars.

The positions continued to change at the front as drivers searched for grip, with Bortoleto holding off Edgar and Mini as they fought with each other.

But Edgar up clearing Bortoleto just before the safety car returned to track following VAR’s Francesco Pizzi crashing out.

Edgar raced straight away on the restart, while Bortoleto lost out to Prema team-mates Mini and Kirill Smal before they collided. Smal spun but didn’t lose too many spots, while Mini sank down the order.

They ended up finishing second and third though, as when BVM Technorace driver Pietro Armanni went into the barriers it was decided to red flag the race rather than finish it behind the safety car. This put the results back a lap, meaning Smal and Mini completed the podium.

Red Bull junior Jak Crawford had made it past Bortoleto for second but got shuffled back to fifth by the red flag decision, and Mucke Motorsport’s Joshua Duerksen lost a podium spot too and ended up in ninth.

Bortoleto was classified fourth, and Jenzer Motorsport’s Filip Ugran was sandwiched between US drivers Bearman and Tim Tramnitz. Barnard sank all the way down to 29th place.

Race results (10 laps)
Pos Driver Team Time
1 Jonny Edgar Van Amersfoort Racing 23m23.161s
2 Kirill Smal Prema +3.803s
3 Gabriele Mini Prema +3.912s
4 Gabriel Bortoleto Prema +4.231s
5 Jak Crawford Van Amersfoort Racing +4.328s
6 Ollie Bearman US Racing +4.940s
7 Filip Ugran Jenzer Motorsport +5.057s
8 Tim Tramnitz US Racing +5.762s
9 Joshua Duerksen Mucke Motorsport +5.922s
10 Dino Beganovic Prema +6.469s
11 Santiago Ramos Jenzer Motorsport +7.481s
12 Axel Gnos G4 Racing +8.516s
13 Sebastian Montoya Prema +8.729s
14 Jesse Salmenautio Bhaitech +10.082s
15 Francesco Simonazzi BVM Technorace +10.981s
16 Leonardo Fornaroli Iron Lynx +11.968s
17 Yaroslav Shevyrtalov Iron Lynx +12.415s
18 Bence Valint Van Amersfoort Racing +12.637s
19 Cenyu Han Van Amersfoort Racing +13.269s
20 Andrea Rosso Cram Motorsport +13.451s
21 Dexter Patterson Bhaitech +14.976s
22 Diego Contecha Mucke Motorsport +15.472s
23 Sebastian Ogaard Bhaitech +16.060s
24 Tikhon Kharitonov Bhaitech +16.525s
25 Jasin Ferati Jenzer Motorsport +18.368s
26 Nicolas Baptiste Cram Motorsport +20.998s
27 Hamda Al Qubaisi Abu Dhabi Racing +21.466s
28 Vittorio Catino Cram Motorsport +23.195s
29 Taylor Barnard AKM Motorsport +23.431s
30 Pietro Armanni BVM Technorace +25.018s
31 Pedro Perino DR Formula +45.003s
32 Francesco Braschi Jenzer Motorsport +1 lap
Ret Francesco Pizzi Van Amersfoort Racing
Fastest lap: Edgar, 1m54.553s

Championship standings
Mini 295   2 Pizzi 209   3 Beganovic 179   4 Edgar 169   5 Bortoleto 157   6 Crawford 150   7 Rosso 139   8 Ugran 133   9 Fornaroli 106   10 Bearman 85