Home News Eastwell and Smith take poles for WHT heats three and four

Eastwell and Smith take poles for WHT heats three and four

by Steve Whitfield

Photo: Ida Wood

KMR Sport’s Michael Eastwell took pole for heat three at the Walter Hayes Trophy, with B-M Racing’s Rory Smith claiming heat four pole.

Rain continued to make conditions slippery with the safety car out on track for most of heat three qualifying, limiting drivers to only a couple of flying laps.

Eastwell made the best use of the green flag running setting a 1m16.877s before improving to 1m15.343s. But he was left stranded in the second sector after his gearbox disintegrated, bringing an early end to the session.

Brandon McCaughan was 0.338s behind for Oldfield Motorsport, with KMR Sport’s Robert Wolk only 0.009s further adrift. B-M’s Tom McArthur was fourth ahead of Wayne Poole Racing’s Ben Mitchell who was the final driver within one second of the pace.

There was yet more drama in qualifying for heat four, despite improved conditions and falling lap times.

Team Dolan’s Chris Middlehurst exchanged top spot with Smith throughout following an early stoppage, as lap times dipped under the 1m14s mark.

Smith reclaimed first in the closing stages with a 1m13.247s, with Middlehurst setting a purple sector on his next flying lap only to then collide with Ian Fernihough’s Titan Mk6, causing steering damage to his Van Diemen and bringing the session to a premature end.

Ammonite Motorsport’s Nolan Allaer was third ahead of KMR Sport’s Julian Van Der Watt and Lewis Fox.

Four-time WHT winner Joey Foster was sixth fastest and said it was a struggle to be on the pace despite feeling good in the car.

“Car feels absolutely fine but there’s a lack of general grip. I don’t know if we slipped up on pressures, maybe go higher [next time],” he said to Formula Scout. “My best lap wasn’t fanstastic either, outbraked myself massively into Becketts. But felt comfortable in the car.”

Qualifying results
Heat 3 Heat 4
Pos Driver Team Time Pos Driver Team Time
1 Michael Eastwell KMR Sport 1m15.343s 1 Rory Smith B-M Racing 1m13.247s
2 Brandon McCaughan Oldfield Motorsport +0.338s 2 Chris Middlehurst Team Dolan +0.029s
3 Robert Wolk KMR Sport +0.347s 3 Nolan Allaer Ammonite Motorsport +0.040s
4 Tom McArthur B-M Racing +0.793s 4 Julian Van der Watt KMR Sport +0.347s
5 Ben Mitchell Wayne Poole Racing +0.897s 5 Lewis Fox Team Fox Racing +0.597s
6 James Littlejohn Simon Hadfield Motorsport +1.008s 6 Joey Foster Don Hardman Racing +0.788s
7 Jack Sullivan Ammonite Motorsport +1.639s 7 Ben Cox Souley Motorsport +1.616s
8 Ayrton Houk Ammonite Motorsport +2.476s 8 Adam Higgins Beastworx +2.374s
9 Pascal Monbaron John’s Racing Team +3.405s 9 Adam Quartermaine PWR1 Racing +2.460s
10 Isaac Canto da Silva Team Dolan +3.477s 10 Ryan Campbell +3.061s
11 Charlie Mann Mann Motorsport +3.954s 11 Tom Radburn Echo Motorsport +4.365s
12 Bob Hawkins TM Racing +6.689s 12 Richard Tarling Midland Classic Restorations +4.400s
13 Klaus-Dieter Haeckel Auto Haeckel Motorsport +7.370s 13 James Colborn Wayne Poole Racing +4.807s
14 Benn Tilley +7.831s 14 Joe Ahrens Enigma Motorsport +5.101s
15 Rick Morris Don Hardman Racing +8.052s 15 Richard Higgins Beastworx +5.210s
16 Andrew Schofield KMR Sport +9.943s 16 Henry Campbell +6.173s
17 Matthew Wrigley +11.073s 17 Vincent Jay TM Racing +6.562s
18 David Porter Porter Motorsport +13.943s 18 Nathan Tupper Team Fox Racing +6.858s
19 Steve Roberts DBR Motorsport +15.917s 19 Leanne McShane Souley Motorsport +9.411s
20 George Ditchfield +16.536s 20 Ian Fernihough +12.778s
21 Jeremy Caine Neil Fowler Motorsport +18.105s 21 Dominic Mooney Midland Classic Restorations +14.347s
22 Alan Slater Swift Cooper +20.438s 22 Oliver Playle no time