Home Formula 3Euroformula Dunner pips team-mate Ye at Spa for Euroformula race two pole

Dunner pips team-mate Ye at Spa for Euroformula race two pole

by Ida Wood

Photo: Fotospeedy

Lukas Dunner made it two poles out of two at Spa-Francorchamps in Saturday qualifying, after edging CryptoTower Racing Team team-mate Yifei Ye in the second session.

Van Amersfoort Racing’s Andreas Estner was the first to go the top of the times in Q2, before Euroformula points leader Ye and Drivex School’s Glenn van Berlo lowered the pace to a level that stood for half of the session.

This was in part due to van Berlo then stopping on track and causing a yellow flag period that prevented drivers from improving, with many choosing to go straight back to the pits and prepare for a second run.

With eight minutes to go there was finally change at the top again, with Motopark’s Manuel Maldonado and Cameron Das jumping up to first and fourth places respectively.

The track started to ger busier and improvements came in from across the grid as drivers made use of the slipstream down the long Kemmel Straight.

The order was completely rearranged by the improvements on the next laps, with Ye returning to the top ahead of Maloney, Dunner, Das and Double R Racing debutant Louis Foster.

Each of the top four then got faster next time around, with Dunner moving onto provisional pole ahead of Ye, Das and Maloney. Dunner didn’t improve on his penultimate effort, whereas Ye did, but the Austrian remained at the top of the timiesheet by 0.022 seconds while Foster set a personal best to go back up to fifth.

Maloney looked like he could challenge for pole on his final lap but faced Das as traffic, and the top five ended up remaining unchanged.

VAR’s Sebastian Estner qualified sixth, while Foster’s fellow debutant and team-mate Benjamin Pedersen rose up to seventh with his final effort. Andreas Estner was only 0.004s further back in eighth, and the top 10 was completed by Ido Cohen (Carlin) and Maldonado.

Van Berlo sank to 14th, only faster than debuting team-mate Matthias Luethen.

Qualifying results
Pos Driver Team Time Gap Laps
1 Lukas Dunner CryptoTower 2m08.431s 10
2 Yifei Ye CryptoTower 2m08.453s +0.022s 10
3 Cameron Das Motopark 2m08.877s +0.446s 9
4 Zane Maloney Carlin 2m09.182s +0.751s 10
5 Louis Foster Double R Racing 2m09.431s +1.000s 10
6 Sebastian Estner Van Amersfoort Racing 2m09.563s +1.132s 10
7 Benjamin Pedersen Double R Racing 2m09.622s +1.191s 10
8 Andreas Estner Van Amersfoort Racing 2m09.626s +1.195s 10
9 Ido Cohen Carlin 2m09.803s +1.372s 9
10 Manuel Maldonado Motopark 2m10.001s +1.570s 11
11 Niklas Krutten Motopark 2m10.121s +1.690s 11
12 Rui Andrade CryptoTower 2m10.161s +1.730s 9
13 Alexandre Bardinon Van Amersfoort Racing 2m10.589s +2.158s 11
14 Glenn van Berlo Drivex School 2m10.794s +2.363s 3
15 Matthias Luethen Drivex School 2m14.431s +6.000s 11