Home Formula 3Euroformula Dunner dents Ye’s Euroformula domination with a third Euroformula win

Dunner dents Ye’s Euroformula domination with a third Euroformula win

by Ida Wood

Photo: Fotospeedy

Lukas Dunner claimed his second Euroformula win of the Monza weekend to cut team-mate Yifei Ye’s points lead for the first time this season.

Ye started from pole and led the first few laps from Dunner, before the Austrian took the lead around the outside of the first corner.

After one counter-attack from Ye, Dunner was then able to concentrate on his race up front as Motopark’s Niklas Krutten passed Ye and the Chinese driver had to spend many laps trying to find a way back into second place – while also under pressure from Van Amersfoort Racing’s Andreas Estner behind.

When Ye eventually did make his way back past Krutten, he was sucked into Dunner’s tow but could do nothing to stop his CryptoTower team-mate from winning. Dunner’s third win from the five races he’s contested this year means he’s already Ye’s closest opponent in the title race.

Estner’s pace faded late on and he finished fourth behind Krutten, while Ayrton Simmons came out on top from early battles with Carlin’s Zane Maloney to claim Double R Racing’s best result of the season in fifth.

Maloney lost sixth to Motopark’s Cameron Das as the result of a track limits penalty, and VAR’s Sebastian Estner finished a lonely eighth.

After a race-long battle, Drivex School’s Glenn van Berlo beat Motopark’s Manuel Maldonado to ninth.

The most notable incident of the race was when VAR’s Alexandre Bardinon and CryptoTower’s Rui Andrade made the slightest contact  but the result was punctures for both drivers.

Race results (17 laps)
Pos Driver Team Time
1 Lukas Dunner CryptoTower 29m41.354s
2 Yifei Ye CryptoTower +0.799s
3 Niklas Krutten Motopark +2.851s
4 Andreas Estner Van Amersfoort Racing +3.520s
5 Ayrton Simmons Double R Racing +8.781s
6 Cameron Das Motopark +12.390s
7 Zane Maloney Carlin +13.653s
8 Sebastian Estner Van Amersfoort Racing +17.835s
9 Glenn van Berlo Drivex School +22.941s
10 Manuel Maldonado Motopark +23.734s
11 Ido Cohen Carlin +24.843s
12 Alexandre Bardinon Van Amersfoort Racing +1m41.248s
Ret Rui Andrade CryptoTower
Fastest lap: Ye, 1m43.882s

Championship standings
1 Ye 219   2 Dunner 110   3 A Estner 97   4 Krutten 87   5 Maldonado 73   6 Maloney 67   7 Simmons 62   8 Cohen 60   9 S Estner 56   10 Das 33