Home Formula 4Italian F4 Dunne tops Red Bull Ring test as karters try out F4

Dunne tops Red Bull Ring test as karters try out F4

by Ida Wood

Photo: ACI Sport

US Racing’s Alex Dunne topped Formula 4 testing at the Red Bull Ring this week, as the entry list was bolstered by karters.

The 39-strong entry list was split into two groups, with Dunne’s usually the faster over the two days of running.

He set the fastest lap of the test, a 1m31.574s, in the very first session and that put him on top by 0.444 seconds ahead of team-mate Kacper Sztuka with only two other drivers within a second of the pace.

Seventh fastest was Sauber’s karter Zachary David, and other karters in the group included Leonardo Megna, who was with BVM Racing after recent tests in first-generation F4 cars with the team and GDL Racing at Cremona, Flavio Oliveiri with Cram Motorsport (after doing Gen1 running with G-Motorsport), Ferrari-backed Laura Camps Torras with Iron Lynx, Rashid Al Dhaheri with AKM Motorsport and SG Motors’ Roberto Arne in an old car.

Group B’s first session was topped by Van Amersfoort Racing duo Martinius Stenshorne, pipping team-mate Brando Badoer by 0.087s, and the group’s entry list additions included F4-experienced Noah Stromsted and Adam Fitzgerald (both R-ace GP), Red Bull protege Arvid Lindblad (VAR), Ginetta Junior racer Akshay Bohra (R-ace) and karters Francisco Soldavini (Maffi Racing) and Ruiqi Liu (AS Motorsport).

Dunne was pipped by team-mate Marcus Amand to top spot in their second session, while Stenshorne again led Badoer in Group B, but was back on top in the afternoon as he headed David by 0.074s in session three of Wednesday’s action.

Stenshorne was also fastest once more in Group B’s third session, 0.080s up on Badoer this time, then US had another one-two in Group A’s final session as Dunne led Nikhil Bohra by a tiny 0.001s.

Lindblad, who will be making his F4 debut with VAR once he has turned 15 next week, led Group B’s final session by 0.019s ahead of Stenshorne.

Thursday’s action featured three sessions for each group, and Stenshorne returned to the top of the order as Group B headed out first. BWR Motorsports’ Alfio Spina was second fastest, 0.030s behind, with both improving on their day one bests.

Dunne and Bohra were split by 0.098s when Group A took to the track, then Jenzer Motorsport duo Alex Partyshev and Ethan Ischer both improved to set the pace in Group B’s session six. They were two of very few drivers to improve their pace after the early morning.

Bohra was fastest by 0.097s over Sztuka in Group A’s penultimate session, and Iron Lynx’s Niko Lacorte surprised to end the test with the fastest lap in session eight. He was quickest by 0.091s, beating David.

Stenshorne and Lindblad were the top two in Group B’s final session. VAR also ran Arias Deukmedjian in a Dallara 320 in the test, and W Series racer Tereza Babickova was testing a Formula Regional car.

Test results

Pos Driver Team Time Gap Laps
1 Alex Dunne US Racing 1m31.574s 147
2 Marcus Amand US Racing 1m31.735s +0.161s 149
3 Kacper Sztuka US Racing 1m32.018s +0.444s 150
4 Nikhil Bohra US Racing 1m32.157s +0.583s 148
5 Martinius Stenshorne Van Amersfoort Racing 1m32.225s +0.651s 188
6 Alfio Spina BWR Motorsports 1m32.255s +0.681s 143
7 Zachary David US Racing 1m32.285s +0.701s 154
8 Pedro Perino US Racing 1m32.442s +0.868s 143
9 Valentin Kluss Jenzer Motorport 1m32.459s +0.885s 84
10 Niko Lacorte Iron Lynx 1m32.468s +0.894s 157
11 Brando Badoer Van Amersfoort Racing 1m32.556s +0.982s 186
12 Arvid Lindblad Van Amersfoort Racing 1m32.571s +0.997s 175
13 Valerio Rinicella AKM Motorsport 1m32.680s +1.106s 151
14 Noah Stromsted R-ace GP 1m32.697s +1.123s 138
15 Kim Hwarang BVM Racing 1m32.759s +1.185s 169
16 Maya Weug Iron Lynx 1m32.809s +1.235s 170
17 Ivan Domingues Iron Lynx 1m32.809s +1.235s 161
18 Emmo Fittipaldi Van Amersfoort Racing 1m32.820s +1.246s 171
19 Adam Fitzgerald R-ace GP 1m32.871s +1.297s 161
20 Akshay Bohra R-ace GP 1m32.911s +1.337s 148
21 Jules Castro Van Amersfoort Racing 1m32.927s +1.353s 174
22 Alex Partyshev Jenzer Motorsport 1m32.979s +1.405s 151
23 Georgios Markogiannis Cram Motorsport 1m32.986s +1.412s 169
24 William Karlsson BVM Racing 1m33.010s +1.436s 125
25 Frederik Lund R-ace GP 1m33.030s +1.456s 103
26 Victoria Blokhina Cram Motorsport 1m33.053s +1.479s 169
27 Flavio Olivieri Cram Motorsport 1m33.059s +1.485s 125
28 Ethan Ischer Jenzer Motorsport 1m33.071s +1.497s 155
29 Rashid Al Dhaheri AKM Motorsport 1m33.167s +1.593s 148
30 Andrea Frassineti Cars Racing 1m33.433s +1.859s 90
31 Rishab Jain BWR Motorsports 1m33.452s +1.878s 141
32 Elia Sperandio Maffi Racing 1m33.508s +1.934s 151
33 Francisco Soldavini Maffi Racing 1m33.547s +1.973s 160
34 Ruiqi Liu AS Motorsport 1m33.816s +2.242s 173
35 Giovanni Maschio AS Motorsport 1m33.829s +2.255s 137
36 Leonardo Megna BVM Racing 1m34.038s +2.464s 159
37 Ismail Akhmed AKM Motorsport 1m34.578s +3.004s 178
38 Laura Camps Torras Iron Lynx 1m34.859s +3.285s 153
39 Roberto Arne SG Motor 1m37.496s +5.922s 41