Home Formula 4ADAC F4 Dunne tops massive 60-car Spa F4 test, PHM Racing joins ADAC F4 grid

Dunne tops massive 60-car Spa F4 test, PHM Racing joins ADAC F4 grid

by Ida Wood

Photo: ADAC

Formula 4 teams flocked to Spa-Francorchamps this week for two days of testing with the new Tatuus T-421 car, and it was US Racing’s Alex Dunne who set the pace.

The 60-car entry list was split into two groups, one consisting of British and Spanish F4 teams and the other of ADAC and Italian F4 regulars.

It was an older Tatuus T-014 setting the pace at first, as Formula de Campeones’ Max Mayer topped Group A session one and also ran slower times in a T-421.

US Racing’s Nikhil Bohra put a Gen2 car on top when Group B went out, and Monlau Motorsport’s Robert De Haan kept the newer cars ahead in Group A.

A T-014 was fastest in Group B session two though, courtesy of Iron Lynx’s Niko Lacorte. The pace quickened in the Tuesday afternoon sessions, with MP Motorsport’s Valerio Rinicella and Campos Racing’s Hugh Barter topping a session each in Group A and Lacorte and Prema’s Andrea Kimi Antonelli doing the same in Group B.

The track was even faster on Wednesday morning, and an unnamed Jenzer Motorsport driver brought the pace down to 2m22.674s in Group B. Dunne, doing a single morning, followed up with the test’s best lap in their next session.

Rinicella was the driver to beat in Group A, although in the first session was matched by Campos’s Jesse Carrasquedo Jr.

Charlie Wurz almost beat Dunne’s benchmark at the end of the day in Group B, with Antonelli having headed their penultimate session, while Barter returned to the top in his group before team-mate Nikola Tsolov topped the final running.

Jenzer and US rotated drivers between cars, while Campos’s Filip Jenic frequently didn’t have laptimes recorded due to transponder faults.

Also in attendance was the new PHM Racing team, announcing it will enter ADAC F4 with four cars, and Teo Martin Motorsport’s new signing Daniel Nogales, the reigning Spanish champion in X30 Senior karts.

Douglas Motorsport ran on track with its GB3 line-up.

Italics is fastest time set in T-014

Test results

Pos Driver Team Time Gap Laps
1 Alex Dunne US Racing 2m22.632s 29
2 Charlie Wurz Prema 2m22.637s +0.005s 114
3 #26 Jenzer Motorsport 2m22.674s +0.042s 108
4 Andrea Kimi Antonelli Prema 2m22.767s +0.135s 116
5 Niko Lacorte Iron Lynx 2m22.846s +0.214s 124
6 Valerio Rinicella MP Motorsport 2m22.892s +0.260s 114
7 Rafael Camara Prema 2m22.922s +0.290s 113
8 Nikhil Bohra (US2) US Racing 2m23.021s +0.389s 115
9 Nikola Tsolov Campos Racing 2m23.177s +0.545s 112
10 Marcus Amand (US3) US Racing 2m23.258s +0.626s 113
11 #27 Wednesday Jenzer Motorsport 2m23.273s +0.641s 65
12 Emmo Fittipaldi Van Amersfoort Racing 2m23.293s +0.661s 77
13 Brando Badoer Van Amersfoort Racing 2m23.300s +0.668s 121
14 Jesse Carrasquedo Jr Campos Racing 2m23.302s +0.670s 112
15 Robert De Haan Monlau Motorsport 2m23.310s +0.678s 109
16 Nikita Bedrin PHM Racing 2m23.341s +0.709s 117
17 James Wharton Prema 2m23.390s +0.758s 117
18 Tymoteusz Kucharczyk MP Motorsport 2m23.416s +0.784s 113
19 Martinius Stenshorne Van Amersfoort Racing 2m23.426s +0.794s 122
20 Valentin Kluss Jenzer Motorsport 2m23.452s +0.820s 126
21 Taylor Barnard PHM Racing 2m23.472s +0.840s 109
22 Noah Stromsted R-ace GP 2m23.490s +0.858s 91
23 Hugh Barter Campos Racing 2m23.523s +0.891s 99
24 Conrad Laursen Prema 2m23.575s +0.943s 116
25 Daniel Guinchard Argenti Motorsport 2m23.581s +0.949s 91
26 AKM2 AKM Motorsport 2m23.634s +1.002s 98
27 Christian Ho MP Motorsport 2m23.672s +1.040s 99
28 Maya Weug Iron Lynx 2m23.715s +1.083s 128
29 Ricardo Escotto Cram Motorsport 2m23.778s +1.146s 102
30 Chris Rosenkranz BWR Motorsports 2m23.821s +1.189s 99
31 Suleiman Zanfari MP Motorsport 2m23.907s +1.275s 119
32 Alfio Spina BWR Motorsports 2m24.048s +1.416s 78
33 Aiden Neate Argenti Motorsport 2m24.072s +1.440s 84
34 Nael Sainteloc Racing 2m24.072s +1.440s 100
35 #68 Tuesday Jenzer Motorsport 2m24.080s +1.448s 60
36 Pedro Perino (US1) US Racing 2m24.165s +1.533s 83
37 Jules Castro Van Amersfoort Racing 2m24.213s +1.581s 124
38 Georg Kelstrup Campos Racing 2m24.214s +1.582s 89
39 Arias Deukmedjian Van Amersfoort Racing 2m24.248s +1.616s 112
40 Ricardo Gracia Global Racing Service 2m24.249s +1.617s 121
41 Anshul Gandhi Cram Motorsport 2m24.281s +1.649s 112
42 Sebastian Gravlund MP Motorsport 2m24.306s +1.674s 120
43 Ethan Ischer Jenzer Motorsport 2m24.314s +1.682s 106
44 Miron Pingasov MP Motorsport 2m24.319s +1.687s 114
45 Max Mayer Formula de Campeones 2m24.343s +1.711s 164
46 Bruno del Pino Drivex School 2m24.345s +1.713s 86
47 Jorge Campos Formula de Campeones 2m24.415s +1.783s 108
48 Gael Julien Drivex School 2m24.425s +1.793s 114
49 Ivan Domingues Iron Lynx 2m24.491s +1.859s 124
50 Jonas Ried PHM Racing 2m24.493s +1.861s 128
51 Alex Garcia Formula de Campeones 2m24.531s +1.899s 59
52 Daniel Nogales Teo Martin Motorsport 2m24.601s +1.969s 113
53 Filip Jenic Campos Racing 2m24.687s +2.055s 77
54 Lucas Malek GRS 2m24.820s +2.188s 36
55 Shihab Al Habsi Teo Martin Motorsport 2m24.873s +2.241s 106
56 Frederik Lund R-ace GP 2m24.908s +2.276s 100
57 Rishad Jain BWR Motorsports 2m25.137s +2.505s 115
58 Adam Fitzgerald Argenti Motorsport 2m25.220s +2.588s 93
59 Viktoria Blokhina PHM Racing 2m25.852s +3.220s 104
60 #1 Drivex School 2m26.264s +3.632s 103
61 Jef Machiels Monlau Motorsport 2m26.527s +3.895s 92
62 AKM3 AKM Motorsport 2m27.027s +4.395s 68