Home Formula 4Italian F4 Duerksen takes comfortable win on his first Italian F4 start of 2020

Duerksen takes comfortable win on his first Italian F4 start of 2020

by Ida Wood

Photo: ACI Sport

Joshua Duerksen controlled the opening Italian Formula 4 race at the Red Bull Ring, as Gabriele Mini moved into the points lead.

Duerksen made a great start from pole, then had to do so again on a restart on lap five after action was halted on the opening lap. At Turn 3, Dexter Patterson half-spun on the apex after clipping another car and a few seconds later there was a four-car pile-up at the corner.

Mini had held on to second behind Duerksen on both the start and the restart, while Van Amersfoort Racing’s Jonny Edgar had lead up to fourth off the line and then swapped position with his team-mate and fellow Red Bull junior Jak Crawford before the safety car was called out.

Edgar emerged in third on the restart, with US Racing’s Ollie Bearman then getting involved in the battle for the bottom podium place. This only helped Duerksen and Mini to distance themselves over the lap before the safety car was called out again due to R-ace GP’s Victor Bernier spinning and stalling at Turn 3 after being pitched into the air by Pietro Delli Guanti.

Duerksen mastered the second restart too, while Mini had to focus on defending from Edgar. The battles behind Duerksen, with Bearman pressuring Crawford and Francesco Pizzi pressuring Gabriel Bortoleto for sixth continued behind but with no change of position and allowing the leader to once again pull away.

Late in the race VAR’s Pizzi finally made his move on Prema’s Bortoleto, whose team-mate Dino Beganovic got shuffled down the order after Jesse Salmenautio found a way past.

After falling to 14th, Beganovic recovered to 12th but he was some way off Salmenautio, Delli Guanti and Prema team-mate Sebastian Montoya who rounded out the points.

Prema’s Mini now leads the points over Pizzi, with Jenzer Motorsport’s Filip Ugran still in third despite missing this weekend’s action due to travel restrictions.


Race results (18 laps)
Pos Driver Team Time
1 Joshua Duerksen Mucke Motorsport 32m31.445s
2 Grabiele Mini Prema +2.224s
3 Jonny Edgar Van Amersfoort Racing +2.731s
4 Jak Crawford Van Amersfoort Racing +3.288s
5 Ollie Bearman US Racing +5.771s
6 Francesco Pizzi Van Amersfoort Racing +12.709s
7 Gabriel Bortoleto Prema +13.634s
8 Jesse Salmenautio Bhaitech +14.578s
9 Pietro Delli Guanti BVM Racing +15.035s
10 Sebastian Montoya Prema +15.162s
11 Hamda Al Qubaisi Abu Dhabi Racing +18.775s
12 Dino Beganovic Prema +19.147s
13 Leonardo Fornaroli Iron Lynx +20.214s
14 Sebastian Ogaard Bhaitech +24.246s
15 Josef Knopp Mucke Motorsport +24.632s
16 Jasin Ferati Jenzer Motorsport +25.490s
17 Francesco Simonazzi Jenzer Motorsport +25.910s
18 Kirill Smal R-ace GP +27.168s
19 Giorgis Markogiannis Cram Motorsport +29.333s
20 Bence Valint Van Amersfoort Racing +30.282s
21 Cenyu Han Van Amersfoort Racing +35.613s
Ret Axel Gnos G4 Racing
Ret Victor Bernier R-ace GP
Ret Andrea Rosso Cram Motorsport
Ret Piotr Wisnicki Jenzer Motorsport
Ret Vlad Lomko US Racing
Ret Dexter Patterson Bhaitech
Ret Mateus Kaprzyk Cram Motorsport
Ret Zdenek Chovanec Bhaitech
Ret Sebastian Freymuth AS Motorsport
Fastest lap: Duerksen, 1m30.953s

Championship Standings
1 Mini 101   2 Pizzi 93   3 Filip Ugran 78   Rosso 77   5 Edgar 73   6 Beganovic 49   7 Crawford 45   8 Montoya 31   9 Delli Guanti 30   10 Salmenautio 28