Home Featured Drugovich on F2 pole at Silverstone, Shwartzman at back of grid

Drugovich on F2 pole at Silverstone, Shwartzman at back of grid

by Josh Suttill

Photo: Getty Images

MP Motorsport’s Felipe Drugovich took his first Formula 2 pole position at Silverstone, while points leader Robert Shwartzman stumbled to 18th and faces an investigation.

F2 rookie Drugovich earned MP’s first ever pole in the second tier of single-seaters with a stunning 1m39.527s lap, which was over six tenths quicker than the benchmark at the period of the session he set it in.

The 20-year-old Brazilian won on only his second F2 start at the Red Bull Ring, and is now sixth in the points.

Virtuosi Racing’s Callum Ilott proved to be his closest challenger, but the Ferrari junior could only get to within 0.139s of pole.

Prema’s Mick Schumacher had his first qualifying flying lap blocked by Trident’s Roy Nissany into Vale but recovered to sit seventh after the first qualifying runs.

He improved to third place by the chequered flag, one tenth clear of FIA Formula 3 graduate Christian Lundgaard, with Hitech GP’s Nikita Mazepin earning his best qualifying position of the year in fifth.

Campos Racing’s Jack Aitken recovered from a miserable practice session to set the sixth-quickest time ahead of Red Bull junior Jehan Daruvala, who had led the session for Carlin after the first qualifying runs.

Virtuosi’s Renault junior Guanyu Zhou suffered his worst qualifying performance of the season in eighth, while Daruvala’s team-mate Yuki Tsunoda was unable to replicate his practice pacesetting pace in ninth place.

Louis Deletraz matched his best qualifying of the year in 10th place for Charouz Racing System, beating Drugovich’s MP team-mate Nobuharu Matsushita.

Dan Ticktum was the leading DAMS driver in 12th place, ahead of Hungaroring sprint race winner Luca Ghiotto and Deletraz’s team-mate Pedro Piquet.

Shwartzman appeared to block Sean Gelael on the run to Stowe and the two narrowly avoided a collision. Prema driver Shwartzman is under investigation, but struggled for pace regardless and will line up in 18th place at best if he is not proved guilty for the incident.


Qualifying results
Pos Driver Team Time Gap Laps
1 Felipe Drugovich MP Motorsport 1m39.527s 12
2 Callum Ilott Virtuosi Racing 1m39.666s +0.139s 12
3 Mick Schumacher Prema 1m39.761s +0.234s 11
4 Christian Lundgaard ART Grand Prix 1m39.846s +0.319s 12
5 Nikita Mazepin Hitech GP 1m39.963s +0.436s 11
6 Jack Aitken Campos Racing 1m40.082s +0.555s 11
7 Jehan Daruvala Carlin 1m40.140s +0.613s 12
8 Guanyu Zhou Virtuosi Racing 1m40.180s +0.653s 12
9 Yuki Tsunoda Carlin 1m40.216s +0.689s 12
10 Louis Deletraz Charouz Racing System 1m40.324s +0.797s 13
11 Nobuharu Matsushita MP Motorsport 1m40.347s +0.820s 12
12 Dan Ticktum DAMS 1m40.396s +0.869s 12
13 Luca Ghiotto Hitech GP 1m40.421s +0.894s 12
14 Pedro Piquet Charouz Racing System 1m40.443s +0.916s 13
15 Marcus Armstrong ART Grand Prix 1m40.448s +0.921s 11
16 Sean Gelael DAMS 1m40.476s +0.949s 11
17 Marino Sato Trident 1m40.958s +1.431s 12
18 Robert Shwartzman Prema 1m41.047s +1.520s 12
19 Roy Nissany Trident 1m41.052s +1.525s 12
20 Giuliano Alesi HWA Racelab 1m41.274s +1.747s 12
21 Artem Markelov HWA Racelab 1m41.342s +1.815s 12
22 Guilherme Samaia Campos Racing 1m42.204s +2.677s 11