Home News Double pole for van’t Hoff in Spanish F4 qualifying at Jerez

Double pole for van’t Hoff in Spanish F4 qualifying at Jerez

by Alejandro Alonso Lopez

Photo: Spanish F4

Dilano van’t Hoff claimed pole position for Spanish Formula 4’s first and second races of the weekend at Jerez.

The MP Motorsport driver came on top of a very close session, where the top three was covered by just one tenth of a second, to earn his 11th and 12th poles of the season.

Drivers needed several preparation laps, which means that first competitive laptimes were set halfway into the session.

Van’t Hoff was the first one to head the charts, but he was soon bettered by Campos Racing’s Pepe Marti, who had led free practice two in the morning.

It wasn’t long until van’t Hoff went again on top as laptimes continued to improve.

Global Racing Service’s Vladislav Ryabov went briefly fastest, but championship leader van’t Hoff lowered his time once again to a 1m42.948s, demoting the Russian to second place.

The 1m43.006s lap set by Ryabov would be good enough to stay second for the rest of the session. Marti concluded qualifying one in third, just 0.083 s off pole.

Formula de Campeones’ Quique Bordas took fourth place with a laptime which was one tenth slower than Marti’s, and Sebastian Ogaard – who won twice last time out at Valencia Ricardo Tormo – will start race one from fifth on the grid.

It will be that same top five lining up in that very same order for race two, set by the second-best laps of each driver.

Drivex School’s Guilherme Oliveira replaces MP Motorsport’s Rik Koen in sixth, while Max Arkhangelskiy and Daniel Macia also move up places in race two grid as Zanfari drops in the order.

Qualifying round-up
Race 1 grid
1 Dilano van’t Hoff MP Motorsport 1m42.948s
2 Vladislav Ryabov GRS +0.058s
3 Pepe Marti Campos Racing +0.083s
4 Quique Bordas Formula de Campeones +0.183s
5 Sebastian Ogaard Campos Racing +0.341s
6 Rik Koen MP Motorsport +0.370s
7 Suleiman Zanfari MP Motorspot +0.387s
8 Max Arkhangelskiy Drivex School +0.392s
9 Guilherme Oliveira Drivex School +0.415s
10 Daniel Macia Formula de Campeones +0.447s

Race 2 grid
1 van’t Hoff 1m43.025s
2 Ryabov +0.047s
3 Marti +0.271s
4 Bordas +0.274s
5 Ogaard +0.304s
6 Oliveira +0.315s
7 Arkhangeliskiy +0.410s
8 Macia +0.417s
9 Manuel Esperito Santo MP Motorsport +0.426s
10 Zanfari +0.464s