Home Formula 3FIA F3 Championship Doohan on top again in second morning of FIA F3 test at Jerez

Doohan on top again in second morning of FIA F3 test at Jerez

by Ida Wood

Jack Doohan started the final day of FIA Formula 3 Championship post-season testing at Jerez with the fastest lap in the morning session.

The Red Bull junior was on top for most of the running, with drivers going on considerably longer runs than they had done on the previous day of the test. This meant there were few changes at the top, with HWA Racelab’s Enzo Fittipaldi setting the early pace before Doohan moved into first place.

Just 0.019 seconds slower than Doohan was Clement Novalak, who like Doohan is driving for Trident during testing. Over the seven sessions held so far at Barcelona and Jerez, the pair have been quickest in four of them.

Third fastest over Wednesday morning, although the cause of a red flag, was Jenzer Motorsport’s Calan Williams, who was only 0.007s faster than Hitech GP’s Jak Crawford in fourth.

The top 19 drivers were covered by less than nine tenths of a second, with all but Campos Racing’s Alessandro Famularo within two seconds of Doohan.

Frederik Vesti was 14th fastest on his second day with ART Grand Prix, while fellow race-winning returnee David Beckmann was fifth for Charouz Racing System.

Bent Viscaal was revealed as MP Motorsport’s third driver for the day, with the team having previously only announced two, and the Dutchman went 18th quickest.

Morning session results
Pos Driver Team Time Gap Laps
1 Jack Doohan Trident 1m29.041s 42
2 Clement Novalak Trident 1m29.060s +0.019s 45
3 Calan Williams Jenzer Motorsport 1m29.328s +0.288s 41
4 Jak Crawford Hitech GP 1m29.336s +0.295s 43
5 David Beckmann Charouz Racing System 1m29.350s +0.309s 27
6 Dennis Hauger Prema 1m29.361s +0.320s 29
7 Caio Collet ART Grand Prix 1m29.461s +0.420s 50
8 Johnathan Hoggard Campos Racing 1m29.514s +0.473s 35
9 Arthur Leclerc Prema 1m29.516s +0.475s 29
10 Enzo Fittipaldi HWA Racelab 1m29.558s +0.517s 35
11 Igor Fraga Hitech GP 1m29.622s +0.581s 47
12 Pierre-Louis Chovet HWA Racelab 1m29.622s +0.587s 33
13 David Schumacher Trident 1m29.674s +0.633s 32
14 Frederik Vesti ART Grand Prix 1m29.698s +0.657s 49
15 Olli Caldwell ART Grand Prix 1m29.705s +0.664s 44
16 Matteo Nannini Hitech GP 1m29.718s +0.677s 33
17 David Vidales Campos Racing 1m29.728s +0.687s 34
18 Bent Viscaal MP Motorsport 1m29.833s +0.792s 40
19 Cameron Das Carlin 1m29.917s +0.876s 39
20 Jonny Edgar MP Motorsport 1m30.099s +1.058s 38
21 Oliver Rasmussen Prema 1m30.135s +1.094s 26
22 Reshad de Gerus Charouz Racing System 1m30.285s +1.244s 39
23 Nazim Azman Carlin 1m30.310s +1.269s 48
24 Ido Cohen Carlin 1m30.410s +1.369s 47
25 Sophia Floersch HWA Racelab 1m30.590s +1.549s 43
26 Francesco Pizzi MP Motorsport 1m30.634s +1.593s 35
27 Rafael Villagomez Jenzer Motorsport 1m30.744s +1.703s 28
28 Konsta Lappalainen Charouz Racing System 1m30.924s +1.883s 37
29 Filip Ugran Jenzer Motorsport 1m30.960s +1.919s 34
30 Alessandro Famularo Campos Racing 1m31.082s +2.041s 35