Home Formula FordNational FF1600 Dempsey tops qualifying for National FF1600’s Donington Park finale

Dempsey tops qualifying for National FF1600’s Donington Park finale

by Steve Whitfield

Kevin Mills Racing’s Jordan Dempsey boosted his hopes of winning the BRSCC National Formula Ford 1600 title by taking pole in qualifying at the season’s final round at Donington Park.

Ammonite Motorsport’s Colin Queen led for most of the 15-minute session, but a late effort ensured points leader Dempsey ended fastest.

Queen set an early benchmark of 1m40.450s before improving to 1m39.393s to lead two-time FFord Festival winner Niall Murray, who was a late addition to the entry list for Team Dolan.

Dempsey then moved into second, 0.016 seconds behind Queen, before topping the times with a 1m39.247s two minutes before the end of qualifying. Queen improved late on but had to settle for second by 0.101s, with Murray remaining in third.

Ammonite’s Shawn Rashid, who took a maiden win last time out, was 0.033s behind Murray in fourth, with his team-mate Andre Lafond fifth.

Lucas Romanek was sixth for Oldfield Motorsport ahead of B-M Racing’s Jamie Sharp. FF1600 returnees Michael Eastwell (KMR) and Joey Foster (Don Hardman Racing) were eighth and ninth, with B-M’s Rory Smith completing the top 10.

Callum Grant was fastest in a separate qualifying session for FFord’s Northern & Super Classic championship in a Van Diemen RF91 with a time of 1m42.241s.

Qualifying results
Pos Driver Team Time Gap Laps
1 Jordan Dempsey Kevin Mills Racing 1m39.247s 9
2 Colin Queen Ammonite Motorsport 1m39.348s +0.101s 9
3 Niall Murray Team Dolan 1m39.601s +0.354s 9
4 Shawn Rashid Ammonite Motorsport 1m39.634s +0.387s 9
5 Andre Lafond Ammonite Motorsport 1m39.775s +0.528s 9
6 Lucas Romanek Oldfield Motorsport 1m39.942s +0.695s 8
7 Jamie Sharp B-M Racing 1m40.016s +0.769s 9
8 Michael Eastwell Kevin Mills Racing 1m40.572s +1.325s 8
9 Joey Foster Don Hardman Racing 1m40.625s +1.378s 9
10 Rory Smith B-M Racing 1m40.676s +1.429s 9
11 Morgan Quinn Team Dolan 1m40.765s +1.518s 9
12 Brandon McCaughan Oldfield Motorsport 1m40.899s +1.652s 8
13 Tom McArthur B-M Racing 1m40.907s +1.660s 9
14 David McArthur B-M Racing 1m40.954s +1.707s 9
15 Tom Nippers 1m41.298s +2.051s 9
16 Brindley Kinch Ammonite Motorsport 1m41.481s +2.234s 9
17 Gabe Tesch Team Dolan 1m42.074s +2.827s 9
18 Tom Hawkins Springbridge Motorsport 1m43.061s +3.814s 9
19 Vincent Jay TM Racing 1m43.633s +4.386s 8