Home Formula FordNational FF1600 Dempsey runs into the distance in National FF1600’s Snetterton opener

Dempsey runs into the distance in National FF1600’s Snetterton opener

by Ida Wood

Photo: Ida Wood

Kevin Mills Racing’s Jordan Dempsey has moved back into the provisional points lead of the BRSCC National Formula Ford 1600 championship with a dominant win at Snetterton.

Dempsey was comfortably faster than anyone else in qualifying, and carried that pace advantage into the opening race as he was frequently more than a second per lap faster than his opposition.

He was 1.53 seconds clear by the end of lap one, 3.1s ahead on lap two and a massive nine seconds up the road by the end of the eight-lap race.

Ammonite Motorsport’s pre-race points leader Colin Queen started second and dropped one position on the opening lap to B-M Racing’s Jamie Sharp after they went side-by-side through several corners, but he started lap two by getting back ahead of Sharp into Riches.

On lap four the positions behind Dempsey changed again, as Sharp and Team Dolan’s Morgan Quinn passed Sharp. Oldfield Motorsport’s Lucas Romanek cleared Queen on lap five, and KMR’s guesting Andrew Rackstraw did too by going around the outside of the Agostini hairpin.

Queen continued to fall down the order, while Romanek quickly closed in on Sharp and Quinn and passed both in a three-wide move into Riches on lap six. Rackstraw soon got onto the tail of the group as well but couldn’t find a gap to place his car in, and Ammonite’s Shawn Rashid also brought his Ray onto the tail of the fight.

All the while Dempsey had the track to himself up front, taking his fifth win of the season by 9.080s while Romanek only secured place by 0.167s over Sharp. Quinn was a further 0.203s behind, with Rackstraw in the end only 0.654s off the runner-up spot.

Murray Shepherd and Brindley Kinch were the two retirees from the race, with Shepherd having to stop his car at the side of the track, while B-M Racing regular Megan Gilkes was absent as she was racing in Formula 1600 in Canada.

Race result (8 laps)
Pos Driver Team Time
1 Jordan Dempsey Kevin Mills Racing 16m12.685s
2 Lucas Romanek Oldfield Motorsport +9.080s
3 Jamie Sharp B-M Racing +9.247s
4 Morgan Quinn Team Dolan +9.450s
5 Andrew Rackstraw Kevin Mills Racing +9.734s
6 Shawn Rashid Ammonite Motorsport +10.394s
7 Brandon McCaughan Oldfield Motorsport +13.626s
8 Ben Cochran Team Dolan +13.880s
9 Andre Lafond Ammonite Motorsport +20.143s
10 Davide Meloni B-M Racing +21.702s
11 Gabe Tesch Team Dolan +35.271s
12 Tom Nippers +35.440s
13 Colin Queen Ammonite Motorsport +54.435s
Ret Brindley Kinch Ammonite Motorsport
Ret Murray Shepherd Andy Powell Racing
Fastest lap: Dempsey, 2m00.194s

Championship standings (before dropped scores)
Dempsey 285   2 Queen 260   3 Romanek 229   4 Sharp 204   5 Quinn 192   6 Cochran 168   7 Rashid 161   8 Lafond 156   9 McCaughan 152   10 Meloni 73