Home Formula FordNational FF1600 Dempsey resists Romanek for another National FF1600 win

Dempsey resists Romanek for another National FF1600 win

by Ida Wood

Photo: BRSCC

Jordan Dempsey made it two BRSCC National Formula Ford 1600 wins out of two at Snetterton on Sunday morning.

Oldfield Motorsport’s Lucas Romanek passed B-M Racing’s Jamie Sharp to get into second place into Riches on the opening lap and then sat behind Dempsey the whole race but could not find a way past as Dempsey maintained strong speed mid-corner in all the places Romanek wanted to overtake at.

In the end they were split by just 0.225 seconds after eight laps, and their fastest laps were also identical but with Dempsey getting the bonus points as he set the laptime first.

Sharp finished almost four seconds behind in third, and Dempsey’s Kevin Mills Racing team-mate Andrew Rackstraw passed Team Dolan’s Morgan Quinn and then held off a late attack from Oldfield’s Brandon McCaughan to take fourth place by a tiny 0.053s.

Behind them on track was Ammonite Motorsport’s Shawn Rashid, but a 10s penalty for track limits violations dropped him to 11th and meant his title-contending team-mate Colin Queen made up a crucial extra position to finish ninth.

Queen had started from the back of the grid after a disastrous first race on Saturday, and he had made it into the top 10 by by lap four. However his progress stalled in the race’s second half and he is now 51 points behind Dempsey at the top of the standings before dropped scores are taken into account.

Brindley Kinch and Murray Shepherd were the race’s two retirements, both ending their morning in the pits.

Race result (8 laps)
Pos Driver Team Time
1 Jordan Dempsey Kevin Mills Racing 16m19.586s
2 Lucas Romanek Oldfield Motorsport +0.225s
3 Jamie Sharp B-M Racing +3.997s
4 Andrew Rackstraw Kevin Mills Racing +8.698s
5 Brandon McCaughan Oldfield Motorsport +8.751s
6 Morgan Quinn Team Dolan +9.095s
7 Andre Lafond Ammonite Motorsport +10.656s
8 Ben Cochran Team Dolan +10.912s
9 Colin Queen Ammonite Motorsport +12.988s
10 Davide Meloni B-M Racing +17.612s
11 Shawn Rashid Ammonite Motorsport +19.468s
12 Tom Nippers +27.025s
13 Gabe Tesch Team Dolan +45.477s
Ret Brindley Kinch Ammonite Motorsport
Ret Murray Shepherd Andy Powell Racing
Fastest lap: Dempsey, 2m01.028s

Championship standings (before dropped scores)
Dempsey 323   2 Queen 272   3 Romanek 256   4 Sharp 229   5 Quinn 212   6 Cochran 183   7 Lafond 174   8 McCaughan 174   9 Rashid 169   10 Meloni 83