Home Formula FordNational FF1600 Dempsey puts it on pole in National FF1600 at Knockhill

Dempsey puts it on pole in National FF1600 at Knockhill

by Ida Wood

Photo: Ida Wood

Kevin Mills Racing’s Jordan Dempsey made it two poles out of two in BRSCC National Formula Ford 1600 this season as he topped qualifying at Knockhill.

The Irishman was quick to establish himself at the Scottish circuit, putting himself ahead early on with a 53.713s lap. Ammonite Motorsport’s Colin Queen was just a few hundredths of a second behind at that point, with B-M Racing’s Jamie Sharp and Oldfield Motorsport’s Lucas Romanek both within two tenths too.

Dempsey then improved to 53.478s mid-session, and that was enough to put him on pole as he failed to improve in the final 15 minutes.

Team Dolan’s Morgan Quinn moved up to third but didn’t look he could find the extra pace to challenge the top two, and it wasn’t until the final few minutes that there was another improvement towards the top of the order as Romanek set a 53.659s to move onto the front row.

Queen also improved but was shuffled down to third, but his tyres remained up to temperature and on his penultimate effort he replied to Romanek by posting a 53.635s and reclaiming second place on the grid.

Quinn and Sharp ended up qualifying fourth and fifth, and KMR’s guest driver Andrew Rackstraw – the dominator of the 2021 South African F1600 championship – was sixth fastest in his first qualifying session in the United Kingdom.

Ammonite’s Americans Shawn Rashid and Andre Lafond qualified seventh and eighth, just ahead of Dolan’s Ben Cochran who had initially been set to miss the weekend with his car put up for sale.

GB4 race-winner Megan Gilkes rounded out the top 10 and was the last driver within a second of Dempsey’s pace, which meant the top driver registered for Scottish FFord points, Graham Brunton Racing’s Michael Gray, was only 11th.

His team-mate Lucas Blakeley, who is an Esports star and making his single-seater debut this weekend, was impressively only 0.084s slower than him. There are only two more cars on the grid competing for Scottish championship points as Drew Stewart is also entered as a guest.

Qualifying results
Pos Driver Team Time Gap Laps
1 Jordan Dempsey Kevin Mills Racing 53.478s 19
2 Colin Queen Ammonite Motorsport 53.635s +0.157s 22
3 Lucas Romanek Oldfield Motorsport 53.659s +0.181s 19
4 Morgan Quinn Team Dolan 53.767s +0.289s 11
5 Jamie Sharp B-M Racing 53.805s +0.327s 20
6 Andrew Rackstraw Kevin Mills Racing 54.065s +0.587s 18
7 Shawn Rashid Ammonite Motorsport 54.181s +0.703s 22
8 Andre Lafond Ammonite Motorsport 54.215s +0.737s 18
9 Ben Cochran Team Dolan 54.253s +0.775s 22
10 Megan Gilkes B-M Racing 54.383s +0.905s 21
11 Michael Gray Graham Brunton Racing 54.578s +1.100s 22
12 Gabe Tesch Team Dolan 54.599s +1.121s 20
13 Lucas Blakeley Graham Brunton Racing 54.662s +1.184s 22
14 Neil Broome StrongBroo Racing 54.673s +1.195s 22
15 Davide Meloni B-M Racing 54.746s +1.268s 20
16 Brandon McCaughan Oldfield Motorsport 54.762s +1.284s 21
17 Tom Nippers 54.854s +1.376s 19
18 Matthew Chisholm 55.142s +1.664s 20
18 Brindley Kinch Ammonite Motorsport 56.105s +2.627s 15
18 Drew Stewart SC Motorsport 56.737s +3.259s 8