Home News DEForce’s Prescott Campbell takes USF2000 lead with first win

DEForce’s Prescott Campbell takes USF2000 lead with first win

by Craig Woollard

Photo: Gavin Baker Photography/Road to Indy

Prescott Campbell overcame DEForce Racing team-mate Nolan Siegel to win the second USF2000 race of the season at Barber Motorsports Park.

Siegel started from pole and led the opening few laps that were interrupted by a full course yellow period after a scary crash at the turn 5 hairpin when Jay Howard Driver Development’s Bijoy Garg span around and Miller Vinatieri Motorsports’ Kent Vacarro rode over him as he faced the wrong way.

When racing returned to green flag conditions, Pabst Racing’s Josh Pierson was all over for Campell for second place yet it was Campbell who was able to finish the lap in the lead.

After passing Siegel, Campbell kept him at bay by a few tenths of a second but with the gap always large enough for Campbell to stay ahead in the areas where Siegel could look to make  pass.

That changed on the last lap, but Campbell was able to hold off the train of cars behind to take his first win and the points lead.

Pierson prevented a DEForce podium lockout by finishing ahead of Kiko Porto in third place, and Exclusive Autosport’s Christian Brooks put them under pressure in the second half of the race in fifth.

Force Indy ended its first weekend as a team with sixth place for its rookie Myles Rowe, as he made several passes after losing a few spots in the opening laps.

Yuven Sundaramoorthy, winner of the season-opening race, finished just over five seconds off the winner in 10th, while JHDD’s Jackson Lee charged from the back to finish 13th.

Fastest lap went to his team-mate Peter Vodanovich, who pitted and went several laps down but returned to track in clean air and earned an additional point by setting the pace.

Race results (20 laps)
Pos Name Team Time
1 Prescott Campbell DEForce Racing 30m35.6511s
2 Nolan Siegel DEForce Racing +0.5419s
3 Josh Pierson Pabst Racing +0.8875s
4 Kirko Porto DEForce Racing +1.1882s
5 Christian Brooks Exclusive Autosport +1.7256s
6 Myles Rowe Force Indy +2.3801s
7 Josh Green Turn 3 Motorsport +4.2601s
8 Thomas Nepveu Cape Motorsports +5.2277s
9 Michael d’Orlando Cape Motorsports +5.3509s
10 Yuven Sundaramoorthy Pabst Racing +5.4912s
11 Spike Kohlbecker Cape w/ Ignite Autosport +5.7958s
12 Billy Frazer Exclusive Autosport +7.1204s
13 Jackson Lee Jay Howard Driver Development +9.8148s
14 Grant Palmer Exclusive Autosport +10.4760s
15 Erik Evans Velocity Racing Development +13.6728s
16 Simon Sikes Legacy Autosport +14.1107s
17 Ely Navarro DEForce Racing +14.6863s
18 Andre Castro Legacy Autosport +21.6675s
19 Dylan Christie Turn 3 Motorsport +1m11.1599s
20 Evan Stamer Cape w/ Ignite Autosport +1 lap
21 Matt Round-Garrido Exclusive Autosport +2 laps
NC Peter Vodanovich Jay Howard Driver Development +8 laps
Ret Jace Denmark-Gessel Pabst Racing
Ret Bijoy Garg Jay Howard Driver Development
Ret Kent Vaccaro Miller Vinatieri Motorsports
Ret Trey Burke Joe Dooling Autosports
Fastest lap: Vodanovich, 1m22.0086s

Championship standings
1 Campbell 56   2 Pierson 44   3 Sundaramoorthy 43   4 Siegel 36   5 Brooks 34   6 d’Orlando 31   7 Porto 30   8 Green 26   9 Frazer 24   10 Kohlbecker 24