Home Formula 3FIA F3 Championship David Schumacher fastest on second morning of FIA F3 Bahrain test

David Schumacher fastest on second morning of FIA F3 Bahrain test

by Peter Allen

Photo by Joe Portlock / LAT Images / FIA F3 Championship

David Schumacher set the pace for the Charouz team in the morning session on the second day of the FIA Formula 3 pre-season test in Bahrain.

Schumacher, entering his first full season in the category, went to the top of the times with around an hour remaining with a time to 1m47.461s that would go unbeaten.

The German displaced ART driver Sebastian Fernandez by 0.021s, with the Spanish-Venezuelan driver finishing up second.

Schumacher’s team-mate Niko Kari was third, just ahead of former Charouz racer Lirim Zendeli, now of Trident.

BRDC British F3 champion Clement Novalak was fifth in front of fellow French rookie Theo Pourchaire of ART.

Prema duo Logan Sargeant and Oscar Piastri were seventh and eighth, with their team-mate Frederik Vesti managing 13th with a late effort.

Day one pacesetter Devlin DeFrancesco wound up 10th for Trident, one pace behind Macau Grand Prix winner Richard Verschoor (MP Motorsport).

Liam Lawson was Hitech’s best runner in 11th, with Sophia Floersch just one place behind with Campos.

Jake Hughes is yet to appear for HWA as he travels over from Sunday’s Formula E test in Marrakech.


Morning session results
Pos Name Team Time Gap Laps
1 David Schumacher Charouz Racing System 1m47.461s 30
2 Sebastian Fernandez ART Grand Prix 1m47.482s +0.021s 30
3 Niko Kari Charouz Racing System 1m47.630s +0.169s 40
4 Lirim Zendeli Trident 1m47.659s +0.198s 28
5 Clement Novalak Carlin 1m47.689s +0.228s 33
6 Theo Pourchaire ART Grand Prix 1m47.790s +0.329s 30
7 Logan Sargeant Prema Racing 1m47.793s +0.332s 31
8 Oscar Piastri Prema Racing 1m47.838s +0.377s 30
9 Richard Verschoor MP Motorsport 1m47.933s +0.472s 26
10 Devlin DeFrancesco Trident 1m48.007s +0.546s 19
11 Liam Lawson Hitech GP 1m48.021s +0.560s 31
12 Sophia Floersch Campos Racing 1m48.065s +0.604s 22
13 Frederik Vesti Prema Racing 1m48.133s +0.672s 30
14 Alexander Smolyar ART Grand Prix 1m48.155s +0.694s 28
15 Igor Fraga Charouz Racing System 1m48.170s +0.709s 35
16 Max Fewtrell Hitech GP 1m48.184s +0.723s 29
17 Enaam Ahmed Carlin 1m48.253s +0.792s 30
18 Olli Caldwell Trident 1m48.358s +0.897s 21
19 Enzo Fittipaldi HWA Racelab 1m48.461s +1.000s 45
20 Cameron Das Carlin 1m48.568s +1.107s 31
21 Federico Malvestiti Jenzer Motorsport 1m48.593s +1.132s 28
22 Calan Williams Jenzer Motorsport 1m48.599s +1.138s 30
23 Bent Viscaal MP Motorsport 1m48.602s +1.141s 30
24 Dennis Hauger Hitech GP 1m48.669s +1.208s 29
25 Alessio Deledda Campos Racing 1m48.915s +1.454s 30
26 Lukas Dunner MP Motorsport 1m48.929s +1.468s 29
27 Jack Doohan HWA Racelab 1m49.135s +1.674s 39
28 Matteo Nannini Jenzer Motorsport 1m49.415s +1.954s 20
29 Alexander Peroni Campos Racing 1m49.838s +2.377s 15