Home Featured Daruvala fastest for Prema in evening session on first day of F2 test

Daruvala fastest for Prema in evening session on first day of F2 test

by Jordan Edwards

Photo: Red Bull Content Pool

Prema’s Jehan Daruvala went quickest in the evening Formula 2 test session at Bahrain, which was interrupted by two red flags. 

Daruvala took the top spot with a time of 1m42.074s with just five minutes to go after the Carlin duo of Liam Lawson and Logan Sargeant dominated the top of the timing screens in the second half of the session. 

Lap times began to tumble in the final minutes, with Calan Williams (Trident) and Dennis Hauger (Prema) improving to make up the top three. Lawson, Sargeant, Marcus Armstrong, Enzo Fittipaldi completed the top eight. 

With just over one hour remaining, Red Bull junior Lawson on fresh tyres topped the times with a time of 1m43.506s, as his Williams-backed team-mate Sargeant closed in on the fastest time.

The teams and drivers were keen to build on this morning’s session with the majority of the field setting meaningful lap times within the first 30 minutes.

Sargeant was quick to put himself at the top of the timesheet followed by 2021 Formula 3 Champion Dennis Hauger, who was the first to break into the sub-45s early in the session. 

However, it was Red Bull Junior Daruvala who set the quickest time at 1m44.264s in the early stages of the session as others completed race runs. 

Three-time F2 race-winner Felipe Drugovich topped the time sheet with a 1m43.831s as the session approached 30 minutes of running. 

The session was then interrupted by a red flag due to an incident as Hitech GP’s Juri Vips completed his first out lap. 

The incident meant he didn’t set a lap time until the session approached the last 20 minutes, before he improved to set the ninth fastest time. A second red flag came as the session approached an hour of running.  

Afternoon results
Pos Driver Team Time Gap Laps
1 Jehan Daruvala Prema 1m42.074s 25
2 Calan Williams Trident 1m42.590s +0.516s 31
3 Dennis Hauger Prema 1m42.602s +0.528s 25
4 Liam Lawson Carlin 1m43.478s +1.404s 31
5 Logan Sargeant Carlin 1m43.483s +1.409s 31
6 Felipe Drugovich MP Motorsport 1m43.590s +1.516s 31
7 Marcus Armstrong Hitech GP 1m43.877s +1.803s 37
8 Enzo Fittipaldi Charouz Racing System 1m43.946s +1.872s 33
9 Juri Vips Hitech GP 1m43.946s +1.872s 15
10 Roy Nissany DAMS 1m44.003s +1.929s 30
11 Theo Pourchaire ART Grand Prix 1m44.132s +2.058s 32
12 Ralph Boschung Campos Racing 1m44.156s +2.082s 38
13 Marino Sato Virtuosi 1m44.212s +2.138s 27
14 Jake Hughes Van Amersfoort Racing 1m44.271s +2.197s 25
15 Ayumu Iwasa DAMS 1m44.289s +2.215s 27
16 Olli Caldwell Campos Racing 1m44.443s +2.369s 34
17 Frederik Vesti ART Grand Prix 1m44.457s +2.383s 34
18 Jack Doohan Virtuosi 1m44.498s +2.424s 28
19 Clement Novalak MP Motorsport 1m44.539s +2.465s 30
20 Richard Verschoor Trident 1m44.778s +2.704s 23
21 Amaury Cordeel Van Amersfoort Racing 1m45.644s +3.570s 13
22 Cem Bolukbasi Charouz Racing System 1m48.637s +6.563s 10