Home Formula 4British F4 Cresswell quickest on Friday at Silverstone in British F4

Cresswell quickest on Friday at Silverstone in British F4

by Ida Wood

Photo: Jakob Ebrey Photography

McKenzy Cresswell narrowly set the fastest lap in British Formula 4’s Friday running at Silverstone, as two drivers were identically matched in second place.

Every driver set their personal best in the first of two free practice sessions on the National layout, with Cresswell fastest overall by just 0.024 seconds.

Argenti Motorsport’s Aiden Neate got up to speed quickest in the morning, before being usurped by Arden’s Zak Taylor and Carlin’s Tasanapol Inthraphuvasak, but with just over half an hour of FP1 to go Cresswell went to the top and he mostly stayed there.

Improvements were by the hundredths of seconds rather than tenths due to the short circuit layout, but Cresswell was able to trim two tenths off his best to end the session on a 55.997s.

Neate did spend a little bit more time at the top before settling for second, a position he held onto ahead of Rees by dint of setting his 56.021s lap before Rees set the same.

Matias Zagazeta was also within a tenth of the pace in the second of Argenti’s cars, with all 17 cars on track covered by less than three quarters of a second.

Neate led the way in the slower second session, with Rees 0.042s back and Eduardo Coseteng – who was in first place for some time in his Argenti-run car – was 0.180s slower than Neate in third.

In both sessions there was not much to shout about for James Hedley, whose mid-season move to Carlin hasn’t resulted in him returning to the points lead he earned at the start of the year while at Fortec Motorsports.

Free practice results

Pos Driver Team Time Gap Laps
1 McKenzy Cresswell JHR Developments 55.997s 46
2 Aiden Neate Argenti Motorsport 56.021s +0.024s 54
3 Matthew Rees JHR Developments 56.021s +0.024s 51
4 Matias Zagazeta Argenti Motorsport 56.062s +0.065s 48
5 Joel Granfors Fortec Motorsports 56.145s +0.148s 60
6 Joseph Loake JHR Developments 56.250s +0.253s 55
7 Oliver Gray Fortec Motorsports 56.301s +0.304s 53
8 Eduardo Coseteng Argenti Motorsport 56.328s +0.331s 51
9 Marcos Flack Argenti Motorsport 56.355s +0.358s 57
10 Kai Askey Carlin 56.374s +0.377s 63
11 Dougie Bolger Carlin 56.379s +0.382s 55
12 Tasanapol Inthraphuvasak Carlin 56.450s +0.453s 54
13 Zak Taylor Arden 56.510s +0.513s 61
14 Georgi Dimitrov Arden 56.570s +0.573s 58
15 David Morales Arden 56.577s +0.580s 62
16 James Hedley Carlin 56.611s +0.614s 57
17 Cameron McLeod Arden 56.726s +0.729s 63