Home Z - Archive seriesFormula Renault Eurocup Colombo claims second Eurocup pole of weekend at Paul Ricard

Colombo claims second Eurocup pole of weekend at Paul Ricard

by Bethonie Waring

Lorenzo Colombo claimed his second pole position of the weekend at Paul Ricard after a suspected unsafe release meant countryman Leonardo Lorandi failed to set a qualifying time.

Just before the halfway point of the 20-minute session, Lorandi?s first run came to a stop when his right rear wheel became detached. The incident prompted a red flag to remove the JD Motorsport-run car and Lorandi?s session came to a close before he could complete a lap.

Colombo had just jumped to the top of the times when the session was paused, but continued to find improvements in the final 10 minutes.

R-ace GP’s Oscar Piastri briefly knocked Colombo back to second when he set a time 0.112 seconds faster than the MP Motorsport driver, but Colombo improved again with his final lap of the morning. He took the chequered flag with a lap that lowered the benchmark to 1m59.968s, the only lap under 2m00s.

Despite setting a the fastest first sector of anyone, Piastri couldn?t improve with his final lap.

A late lap from Alexander Smolyar put the R-ace GP driver third, ahead of Colombo’s championship leading team-mate Victor Martins and M2 Competition?s Kush Maini.

Petr Ptacek and Caio Collet took sixth and seventh, as Ugo de Wilde once again dropped down the order after setting the pace early in the session, finishing P8. Amaury Cordeel and Xavier Lloveras completed the top 10.


Qualifying results
Pos Name Team Time
1 Lorenzo Colombo MP Motorsport 1m59.968s
2 Oscar Piastri R-ace GP +0.249s
3 Alexander Smolyar R-ace GP +0.315s
4 Victor Martins MP Motorsport +0.471s
5 Kush Maini M2 Competition +0.858s
6 Petr Ptacek Bhaitech +0.871s
7 Caio Collet R-ace GP +0.874s
8 Ugo de Wilde JD Motorsport +0.944s
9 Amaury Cordeel MP Motorsport +0.949s
10 Xavier Lloveras Global Racing Service +0.966s
11 Sebastian Fernandez Arden +1.031s
12 Joao Vieira JD Motorsport +1.157s
13 Frank Bird Arden +1.159s
14 Brad Benavides FA Racing by Drivex +1.209s
15 Patrik Pasma Arden +1.264s
16 Patrick Schott FA Racing by Drivex +1.486s
17 Federico Malvestiti Bhaitech +1.723s
18 Lucas Alecco Roy M2 Competition +2.037s
19 Alessio Deledda Global Racing Service +2.794s
20 Callan O’Keeffe FA Racing by Drivex +6.400s
21 Leonardo Lorandi JD Motorsport no time