Home Z - Archive seriesFormula Renault Eurocup Collet reclaims Eurocup points lead with Magny-Cours win

Collet reclaims Eurocup points lead with Magny-Cours win

by Ida Wood

Photo: Guillaume Renard

Caio Collet took a crushing win in the first Formula Renault Eurocup race at Magny-Cours to reclaim the championship lead from Victor Martins.

R-ace GP driver and Renault Formula 1 junior Collet made a great start from pole and was unrivalled from then on, as JD Motorsport’s David Vidales pressured ART Grand Prix’s Martins through the opening few corners before successfully making it through.

Martins did stick to the rear of Vidales for some time, but eventually the gaps between the top three opened up significantly.

The early battle between Vidales and Martins enabled the latter’s team-mate Gregoire Saucy to pass Bhaitech’s Lorenzo Colombo for fourth, and Arden’s Alex Quinn then also passed Colombo in the opening laps.

Those positions were all but sorted after the first few laps, and after the third ART car of Paul Aron dropped down the order it meant Quinn’s team-mate Ugo de Wilde moved up into a comfortable seventh place.

Aron still scored a point in 10th, behind Petr Ptacek (R-ace GP) and William Alatalo (JD Motorsport).

The first two laps, as well as providing overtaking, also included a few clashes that put MP Motorsport’s Hadrien David, FA Racing by Manor’s Amaury Cordeel and Bhaitech stand-in Vicky Piria out of the race.


Race results
Pos Name Team Time
1 Caio Collet R-ace GP 21 laps
2 David Vidales JD Motorsport +4.223s
3 Victor Martins ART Grand Prix +5.433s
4 Gregoire Saucy ART Grand Prix +13.840s
5 Alex Quinn Arden +15.577s
6 Lorenzo Colombo Bhaitech +16.124s
7 Ugo de Wilde Arden +17.057s
8 Petr Ptacek R-ace GP +19.676s
9 William Alatalo JD Motorsport +20.452s
10 Paul Aron ART Grand Prix +31.930s
11 Laszlo Toth Bhaitech +37.263s
12 Reshad de Gerus Arden +38.807s
13 Franco Colapinto MP Motorsport +42.804s
Ret Hadrien David MP Motorsport
Ret Amaury Cordeel FA Racing by Manor
Ret Vicky Piria Bhaitech
Fastest lap: Colapinto, 1m33.943s

Championship standings
Martins 108   2 Collet 113   Vidales 87   4 Colapinto 68   5 Alatalo 57   6 Quinn 55   7 Colombo 42   8 Saucy 43   9 Aron 27   10 Mikhael Belov 23