Home Z - Archive seriesFormula Renault Eurocup Collet dominates second Eurocup race at Zandvoort to close on points lead

Collet dominates second Eurocup race at Zandvoort to close on points lead

by Josh Suttill

Photo Clément Luck / DPPI

Renault junior Caio Collet controlled proceedings in the Formula Renault Eurocup’s second race at Zandvoort to close on points leader Victor Martins.

R-ace GP’s Collet made a fast getaway from his second pole position of the season, while series rookie Paul Aron demoted his ART Grand Prix team-mate Martins to third place when he passed him at the banked Turn 4.

Martins reclaimed second place at Turn 1 on the third lap but he was unable to make significant inroads into Collet’s lead

Collet led every lap of the race to take claim his third win of the season and move to within two points of title rival Martins.

MP Motorsport’s Franco Colapinto – returning to the podium for the first time since the season opener at Monza – was over 18 seconds adrift of Collet in third place.

Aron dropped out of that position with just under 10 minutes of the race remaining with a suspected mechanical failure.

Spanish karting graduate David Vidales charged from eighth on the grid to finish in fourth place for JD Motorsport, ahead of Eurocup veteran Lorenzo Colombo (Bhaitech).

R-ace GP’s Petr Ptacek rounded out his best weekend of the season in sixth place, with Tijmen van der Helm earning his best result since the first race of the year in seventh.

Gregoire Saucy was eighth ahead of MP’s Roman Stanek, who scored the first points of his debut Eurocup weekend with MP Motorsport after racing in FIA Formula 3 Championship this year. The top 10 was rounded out by JD’s William Alatalo.

Amaury Cordeel was unable to start from fifth place on the grid after his car ground to a halt on the way to the grid prior to the race.

Race results
Pos Name Team Time
1 Caio Collet R-ace GP 21 laps
2 Victor Martins ART Grand Prix +2.577s
3 Franco Colapinto MP Motorsport +18.690s
4 David Vidales JD Motorsport +19.180s
5 Lorenzo Colombo Bhaitech +21.912s
6 Petr Ptacek R-ace GP +27.310s
7 Tijmen van der Helm FA Racing by Manor +29.849s
8 Gregoire Saucy ART Grand Prix +30.373s
Roman Stanek
MP Motorsport +31.392s
10 William Alatalo JD Motorsport +32.081s
11 Hadrien David MP Motorsport +33.319s
12 Alex Quinn Arden +33.457s
13 Ugo de Wilde Arden +36.208s
14 Reshad de Gerus Arden +43.294s
15 Nicola Marinangeli Bhaitech +52.327s
16 Laszlo Toth Bhaitech +1m07.294s
17 Paul Aron ART Grand Prix +52.009s
DNS Amaury Cordeel FA Racing by Manor
Fastest lap: Martins, 1m32.260s

Championship standings
1 Martins 176   2 Collet 174   3 Vidales 129   4 Colapinto 91   5 Quinn 69   6 Colombo 66   7 Alatalo 62   8 Saucy 56   9 Aron 33   10 Ptacek 30