Home Formula RegionalFRegional European Championship Colapinto leads top 28 covered by a second in FREC Valencia practice

Colapinto leads top 28 covered by a second in FREC Valencia practice

by Ida Wood

Photo: FRECA

Franco Colapinto followed up his test-topping run on Thursday by going fastest on Friday in Formula Regional European Championship practice.

The Argentinian was quickest in the morning session at Valencia Ricardo Tormo, with nobody bar ART Grand Prix’s Patrik Pasma down in 31st place improving on their personal bests in the second of the day’s sessions.

Van Amersfoort Racing’s Mari Boya was the driver to beat early in practice, but MP Motorsport’s Colapinto was never far away from the top and he trailed him by 0.120 seconds on the first run of the day.

On their second run the pair were separated by just 0.005s, but with Boya still ahead, then R-ace GP’s Hadrien David jumped ahead of both before Colapinto got into his groove.

He ended the session on a 1m28.730s, four tenths up on the benchmark David had set, and with Prema’s Dino Beganovic as his closest rival.

Ferrari junior Beganovic was 0.049s slower than Colapinto, and one of three drivers within a tenth of his pace. Championship leader Gregoire Saucy was sixth for ART GP, and only 0.165s away from the top.

Colapinto spent longer in first place in session two, and was a third of a second faster than Saucy this time while Boya – who like Colapinto is a graduate of Spanish Formula 4 and therefore knows the circuit – was just behind him in third.

There was also a brief red flag stoppage in the second session, and Colapinto was one of several drivers to have laps deleted for track limits violations.

Free practice results

Pos Driver Team Time Gap Laps
1 Franco Colapinto MP Motorsport 1m28.730s 36
2 Dino Beganovic Prema 1m28.779s +0.049s 31
3 Mari Boya Van Amersfoort Racing 1m28.784s +0.054s 36
4 Alex Quinn Arden 1m28.789s +0.059s 42
5 Paul Aron Prema 1m28.866s +0.136s 33
6 Gregoire Saucy ART Grand Prix 1m28.895s +0.165s 40
7 Michael Belov G4 Racing 1m28.914s +0.184s 39
8 Gabriel Bortoleto FA Racing by MP 1m28.916s +0.186s 33
9 Francesco Pizzi Van Amersfoort Racing 1m28.954s +0.224s 42
10 David Vidales Prema 1m28.986s +0.256s 37
11 Kas Haverkort MP Motorsport 1m29.038s +0.308s 39
12 Oliver Goethe MP Motorsport 1m29.052s +0.322s 38
13 Hadrien David R-ace GP 1m29.139s +0.409s 34
14 William Alatalo Arden 1m29.173s +0.443s 39
15 Gabriele Mini ART Grand Prix 1m29.257s +0.527s 37
16 Isack Hadjar R-ace GP 1m29.265s +0.535s 40
17 Eduardo Barrichello JD Motorsport 1m29.271s +0.541s 33
18 Gianluca Petecof KIC Motorsport 1m29.349s +0.619s 40
19 Nicola Marinangeli Arden 1m29.377s +0.647s 41
20 Dilano van’t Hoff MP Motorsport 1m29.388s +0.658s 35
21 Andrea Rosso FA Racing by MP 1m29.401s +0.671s 37
22 Zane Maloney R-ace GP 1m29.505s +0.775s 36
23 Alexandre Bardinon FA Racing by MP 1m29.541s +0.811s 39
24 Pietro Delli Guanti Monolite Racing 1m29.570s +0.840s 37
25 Emidio Pesce DR Formula 1m29.629s +0.899s 34
26 Nico Gohler KIC Motorsport 1m29.639s +0.909s 41
27 Lorenzo Fluxa Van Amersfoort Racing 1m29.694s +0.964s 43
28 Tommy Smith JD Motorsport 1m29.723s +0.993s 42
29 Jasin Ferati KIC Motorsport 1m29.806s +1.076s 27
30 Jose Garfias Monolite Racing 1m29.810s +1.080s 37
31 Patrik Pasma ART Grand Prix 1m30.012s +1.282s 36
32 Lena Buhler R-ace GP 1m30.293s +1.563s 38
33 Axel Gnos G4 Racing 1m30.333s +1.603s 31
34 Belen Garcia G4 Racing 1m30.860s +2.130s 35