Home Featured Colapinto holds off Bearman to win FIA F3 sprint race at Monza

Colapinto holds off Bearman to win FIA F3 sprint race at Monza

by Alejandro Alonso Lopez

Photo: Formula Motorsport Limited

Franco Colapinto fended off Prema’s Ollie Bearman in the last lap to claim victory in the sprint race of FIA Formula 3’s Monza season finale.

The top three on the reversed grid top held on to their positions at the start as all the cars made it through the first chicane, although Colapinto’s Van Amersfoort Racing team-mates Reece Ushijima and Rafael Villagomez had to cut it to avoid hitting the cars in front.

As the field exited the chicane, ART Grand Prix’s points leader Victor Martins went for a move around the outside of Prema title rival Arthur Leclerc. They made contact and Martins went into the gravel at Curva Grande, but he was able to keep control and rejoin at the back of the pack.

On-track battles continued on lap two with several drivers trying to make up places. MP Motorsport’s Alexander Smolyar, who was running in 10th, spun at the della Roggia chicane as Hitech GP’s Kaylen Frederick went around his outside.

The safety car then came out on lap four. Carlin’s Zak O’Sullivan had missed his braking point at the end of the main straight and lost control, going into the wall. Racing resumed four laps later with reversed-grid polesitter Colapinto leading.

Even though he waited until the start-finish line to accelerate, he couldn’t avoid being challenged by MP’s Caio Collet and Campos Racing’s Pepe Marti at the first corner.

There was drama behind and Hitech GP’s title contender Isack Hadjar, who had already taken the escape road at the della Roggia chicane on lap one, came into the pitlane for a new front-wing, ending his chances of scoring points.

As the race progressed, Marti dropped back, whereas Bearman closed on Colapinto, Collet and Trident’s Jonny Edgar.

On lap 15 out of 18, Bearman took advantage of the battle between Collet and Edgar for second place, and overtook them both by outbraking them around the outside going into the first chicane.

Bearman went then on to catch Colapinto and made his move for the lead around the outside of Parabolica on the last lap. But there wasn’t enough grip to steal the win, and he instead cut the points gap with second place.

Behind them, Collet claimed third and title contender Zane Maloney passed Trident team-mate Edgar for fourth.

A chaotic last lap allowed Martins to take the chequered flag in 10th, extending his lead by one point and putting Trident rival Roman Stanek out of the points.

Race result (18 laps)

Pos Driver Team Time
1 Franco Colapinto Van Amersfoort Racing 34m15.088s
2 Ollie Bearman Prema +0.432s
3 Caio Collet MP Motorsport +2.109s
4 Zane Maloney Trident +3.404s
5 Jonny Edgar Trident +4.121s
6 Gregoire Saucy ART Grand Prix +4.279s
7 Jak Crawford Prema +4.614s
8 Arthur Leclerc Prema +6.061s
9 Pepe Marti Campos Racing +6.547s
10 Victor Martins ART Grand Prix +6.878s
11 Kush Maini MP Motorsport +7.755s
12 Roman Stanek Trident +7.983s
13 Juan Manuel Correa ART Grand Prix +8.157s
14 William Alatalo Jenzer Motorsport +9.252s
15 Ido Cohen Jenzer Motorsport +12.316s
16 Federico Malvestiti Jenzer Motorsport +12.998s
17 Francesco Pizzi Charouz Racing System +13.468s
18 Brad Benavides Carlin +13.750s
19 Reece Ushijima Van Amersfoort Racing +15.953s
20 Enzo Trulli Carlin +17.476s
21 Nazim Azman Hitech GP +18.710s
22 Laszlo Toth Charouz Racing System +22.362s
23 Alessandro Famularo Charouz Racing System +30.912s
24 Hunter Yeany Campos Racing +50.936s
25 Alexander Smolyar MP Motorsport +1m09.799s
26 Rafael Villagomez Van Amersfoort Racing +1m10.263s
27 Isack Hadjar Hitech GP +1m10.409s
Ret Kaylen Frederick Hitech GP
Ret Zak O’Sullivan Carlin
Ret David Vidales Campos Racing
Fastest lap: Smolyar, 1m39.160s

Championship standings
1 Martins 127   2 Hadjar 121   3 Bearman 115   4 Maloney 109   5 Stanek 109   6 Leclerc 104   6 Crawford 94   8 Collet 88   9 Colapinto 76   10 Smolyar 75