Home Featured Colapinto fends off Vidales to win FREC race one at Valencia

Colapinto fends off Vidales to win FREC race one at Valencia

by Alejandro Alonso Lopez

Photo: Formula Regional by Alpine

Franco Colapinto took a convincing victory in the first Formula Regional European Championship by Alpine race at Valencia after fending off David Vidales at the start of the race.

This is Colapinto’s second win in the last three races, and the third time he’s taken the chequered flag first having had his race two success in Spielberg taken away due to exceeding track limits.

Prema’s David Vidales finished second on home soil, scoring his first podium since Imola’s season opener.

Vidales stayed within one second of Colapinto for the whole race, but it wasn’t possible for him to attempt a move for the lead of the race.

Third place went to another Spaniard Mari Boya who had a comfortable drive on route to his maiden FREC podium.

As expected, not many moves were seen after the opening lap. Colapinto had to defend hard at the start from Vidales, who had a much better getaway.

In fact, Vidales momentarily took the lead in the exit of Turn 1 only for Colapinto to regain the place as they went into Turn 2.

Van Amersfoort Racing’s Boya also had a good start from third on the grid, and he was able to hold on that position without much trouble.

Prema’s Paul Aron was the only driver to make up places within the top five in the opening lap. The Estonian passed G4 Racing’s Michael Belov for fourth at Turn 11.

Starting from outside the top 10, R-Ace GP driver Zane Maloney made the most of the first lap and moved up four places in order to place himself eighth on the road. This would earn the racer from Barbados four valuable points in the fight for second place in the overall standings.

On the contrary, championship leader Gregoire Saucy dropped two places to 12th. The ART Grand Prix driver wasn’t able to get back into points positions, in what until now has been a weekend full of struggles for the French squad.

Race results (21 laps)
Pos Driver Team Time
1 Franco Colapinto MP Motorsport 21 laps
2 David Vidales Prema +0.417s
3 Mari Boya Van Amersfoort Racing +4.092s
4 Paul Aron Prema +6.049s
5 Michael Belov G4 Racing +10.817s
6 Alex Quinn Arden +12.427s
7 Hadrien David R-ace GP +14.479s
8 Zane Maloney R-ace GP +16.680s
9 Isack Hadjar R-ace GP +17.191s
10 Dino Beganovic Prema +17.605s
11 Gabriel Bortoleto FA Racing by MP +19.114s
12 Gregoire Saucy ART Grand Prix +20.632s
13 William Alatalo Arden +23.033s
14 Gabriele Mini ART Grand Prix +25.285s
15 Kas Haverkort MP Motorsport +25.818s
16 Pietro Delli Guanti Monolite Racing +27.780s
17 Eduardo Barrichello JD Motorsport +28.568s
18 Francesco Pizzi Van Amersfoort Racing +31.238s
19 Lorenzo Fluxa Van Amersfoort Racing +31.673s
20 Dilano van’t Hoff MP Motorsport +32.182s
21 Tommy Smith JD Motorsport +34.654s
22 Gianluca Petecof KIC Motorsport +35.852s
23 Oliver Goethe MP Motorsport +39.268s
24 Jose Garfias Monolite Racing +40.501s
25 Emidio Pesce DR Formula +43.553s
26 Andrea Rosso FA Racing by MP +45.405s
27 Axel Gnos G4 Racing +45.789s
28 Nico Gohler KIC Motorsport +46.233s
29 Belen Garcia G4 Racing +54.028s
30 Lena Buhler R-ace GP +54.719s
31 Nicola Marinangeli Arden +54.830s
32 Jasin Ferati KIC Motorsport +1m45.864s
Ret Patrik Pasma ART Grand Prix +2 laps
Ret Alexandre Bardinon FA Racing by MP  

Fastest lap: Colapinto, 1m30.257s

Championship standings
Saucy 224   2 David 153   3 Maloney 145   4 Aron 121   5 Hadjar 111   6 Mini 109   7 Quinn 104   8 Colapinto 98   9 Alatalo 77   10 Vidales 76