Home Featured Colapinto clinches second pole in foggy FREC qualifying

Colapinto clinches second pole in foggy FREC qualifying

by Ida Wood

Photo: FRECA

Franco Colapinto came through the fog at the Red Bull Ring to earn a second consecutive Formula Regional European Championship pole.

The cool and moist conditions reduced visibility around the circuit, but qualifying went ahead without an issue.

As the track gripped up, the laptimes tumbled and it wasn’t clear who was going to take pole until after the chequered flag such was the track evolution.

G4 Racing’s Michael Belov was the first to venture out to get an idea of the grip, but few followed him in the first eight minutes of the 20-minute session.

Belov’s team-mate Axel Gnos broke the 1m30s barrier, but he was quickly shuffled down to the bottom of the timesheet with Nicola Marinangeli and then Gregoire Saucy going to the top next.

Elias Seppanen brought the pace into the 1m27s, with William Alatalo and Dino Beganovic bettering him before the next jump in pace as Hadrien David set a 1m26.785s lap.

David knocked four tenths of a second off his own benchmark, but on the improving track it wasn’t ling before he was shuffled down to third by Saucy and then Isack Hadjar.

The 1m26.146s set by Hadjar was the provisional pole lap for just over a minute, as Saucy struck back with a 1m26.037s.

Colapinto came through and broke into the 1m25s, and Saucy’s response was 0.063 seconds short of matching him.

Colapinto was still on pole with seconds to go of the session, but Saucy’s final lap was enough to take it from him by 0.067s.

Being one of the last on track, Colapinto had slightly more grip and he reclaimed top spot by 0.055s with his final effort.

Paul Aron was first to meet the chequered flag and went third fastest, but his lap was deleted for going too wide at the final corner and it dropped him to 18th.

Gabriel Bortoleto ended up in third ahead of Belov and three of R-ace GP’s drivers. The team’s fourth driver, Lena Buhler, ended qualifying by spinning off.

Qualifying results

Pos Driver Team Time Gap Laps
1 Franco Colapinto MP Motorsport 1m25.699s 11
2 Gregoire Saucy ART Grand Prix 1m25.754s +0.055s 11
3 Gabriel Bortoleto FA Racing by MP 1m25.927s +0.228s 11
4 Michael Belov G4 Racing 1m26.007s +0.308s 12
5 Hadrien David R-ace GP 1m26.040s +0.341s 11
6 Zane Maloney R-ace GP 1m26.057s +0.358s 11
7 Isack Hadjar R-ace GP 1m26.085s +0.386s 11
8 Mari Boya Van Amersfoort Racing 1m26.118s +0.419s 11
9 Pietro Delli Guanti Monolite Racing 1m26.192s +0.493s 12
10 Alex Quinn Arden 1m26.193s +0.494s 11
11 William Alatalo Arden 1m26.203s +0.504s 12
12 Dino Beganovic Prema 1m26.231s +0.532s 10
13 Gabriele Mini ART Grand Prix 1m26.240s +0.541s 11
14 Francesco Pizzi Van Amersfoort Racing 1m26.298s +0.599s 11
15 David Vidales Prema 1m26.302s +0.603s 10
16 Andrea Rosso FA Racing by MP 1m26.366s +0.667s 11
17 Gianluca Petecof KIC Motorsport 1m26.426s +0.727s 11
18 Paul Aron Prema 1m26.428s +0.729s 10
19 Oliver Goethe MP Motorsport 1m26.441s +0.742s 11
20 Lorenzo Fluxa Van Amersfoort Racing 1m26.505s +0.806s 12
21 Ido Cohen JD Motorsport 1m26.599s +0.900s 11
22 Eduardo Barrichello JD Motorsport 1m26.643s +0.944s 12
23 Patrik Pasma ART Grand Prix 1m26.798s +1.099s 11
24 Tommy Smith JD Motorsport 1m26.803s +1.104s 11
25 Kas Haverkort MP Motorsport 1m26.869s +1.170s 12
26 Elias Seppanen KIC Motorsport 1m26.878s +1.179s 12
27 Alexandre Bardinon FA Racing by MP 1m26.901s +1.202s 11
28 Nico Gohler KIC Motorsport 1m27.051s +1.352s 12
29 Axel Gnos G4 Racing 1m27.088s +1.389s 12
30 Emidio Pesce DR Formula 1m27.228s +1.529s 11
31 Jose Garfias Monolite Racing 1m27.250s +1.551s 12
32 Nicola Marinangeli Arden 1m27.700s +2.001s 12
33 Lena Buhler R-ace GP 1m27.753s +2.054s 11