Home News Christian Rasmussen on pole by 1.3s for USF2000 season opener

Christian Rasmussen on pole by 1.3s for USF2000 season opener

by Craig Woollard

Photo: Indianapolis Motor Speedway

Jay Howard Driver Development’s Christian Rasmussen took a commanding pole position for the USF2000 season opener at Road America by over a second.

Rasmussen was quick out of the box during the damp 20-minute session and quickly asserted himself as a favourite for pole by going two seconds quicker than Pabst Racing’s Matt Round-Garrido with a 2m26.325s, with Round-Garrido holding second for a lengthy period.

There was a red flag called with seven minutes to go after Rasmussen’s JHDD team-mate Wyatt Brichacek went off at Turn 10.

Despite initially not improving, Rasmussen was able to drop his own benchmark down further, eventually setting a 2m25.709 to take pole.

Exclusive Autosport’s Christian Brooks put in a very late effort to vault to second, 1.3s off Rasmussen, narrowly pipping Cape Motorsports’ Josh Green.

Round-Garrido dropped to fourth in the closing stages, ahead of Pabst team-mate Eduardo Barrichello.

Reece Gold rounded out the top six, ahead of Cape team-mate Michael d’Orlando, Exclusive’s Prescott Campbell, Miller Vinatieri Motorsport’s Jack Miller and Pabst’s Yuven Sundaramoorthy.


Qualifying results

Pos Driver Team Time
1 Christian Rasmussen Jay Howard Driver Development 2m25.709s
2 Christan Brooks Exclusive Autosport +1.3000s
3 Josh Green Cape Motorsports +1.3400s
4 Matt Round-Garrido Pabst Racing +1.5461s
5 Eduardo Barrichello Pabst Racing +1.6139s
6 Reece Gold Cape Motorsports +1.7532s
7 Michael d’Orlando Cape Motorsports +1.8679s
8 Prescott Campbell Exclusive Autosport +2.2616s
9 Jack William Miller Miller Vinatieri Motorsports +2.7233s
10 Yuven Sundaramoorthy Pabst Racing +3.0305s
11 Nolan Siegel Jay Howard Driver Development +3.1162s
12 Kyle Dupell Cape Motorsports +3.3858s
13 Nico Christodoulou DEForce Racing +4.2932s
14 Christian Bogle Jay Howard Driver Development +4.5402s
15 Josh Pierson Exclusive Autosport +5.1232s
16 Wyatt Brichacek Jay Howard Driver Development +5.4102s
17 Cameron Shields Legacy Autosport +5.8138s
18 Ayrton Ori Legacy Autosport +7.5452s
19 Bijoy Garg Jay Howard Driver Development +8.7308s
20 Max Kaeser Miller Vinatieri Motorsports +13.9248s