Home News Christian Rasmussen doubles up in USF2000 at Road America

Christian Rasmussen doubles up in USF2000 at Road America

by Ida Wood

Photo: Indianapolis Motor Speedway

Jay Howard Driver Development’s Chistian Rasmussen made it two wins out of two at Road America to start of the USF2000 season.

The Dane started from pole and was only challenged once, when he took too much kerb at Turn 14 on lap three of 12 and was briefly passed by Cape Motorsports’ Josh Green.

He quickly moved back past Green and was only ever in touching distance of the pack behind again when Exclusive Autosport’s Josh Pierson crashed into the tyre barriers at Turn 1 with two laps to go and the race was forced to finish behind the pace car.

Just before the pace car’s appearance, Green lost second place to his team-mate Michael d’Orlando.

Two of Pabst Racing’s drivers also got involved in the battle for second place, with a one second gap often covering second place down to fifth.

Matt Round-Garrido ended up being the top Pabst driver in fourth, with Eduardo Barrichello having to come off second best this time around after beating Round-Garrido to the podium in race one.

Cameron Shields was sixth for Legacy Autosport, while Cape’s Reece Gold charged up from 19th on the grid to finish seventh.

Pierson’s team-mate Christian Brooks had his race end on the opening lap, which lead to a brief full course yellow.


Race results (12 laps)
Pos Name Team Time
1 Christian Rasmussen Jay Howard Driver Development 30m36.736s
2 Michael d’Orlando Cape Motorsports +0.6251s
3 Josh Green Cape Motorsports +1.6987s
4 Matt Round-Garrido Pabst Racing +2.6226s
5 Eduardo Barrichello Pabst Racing +3.1145s
6 Cameron Shields Legacy Autosport +3.7830s
7 Reece Gold Cape Motorsports +4.5512s
8 Yuven Sundaramoorthy Pabst Racing +5.1971s
9 Christian Bogle Jay Howard Driver Development +5.8705s
10 Kyle Dupell Cape Motorsports +6.4571s
11 Nico Christodoulou DEForce Racing +7.6753s
12 Prescott Campbell Exclusive Autosport +8.7258s
13 Jack William Miller Miller Vinatieri Motorsports +9.4650s
14 Nolan Siegel Jay Howard Driver Development +10.1897s
15 Bijoy Garg Jay Howard Driver Development +10.6896s
16 Ayrton Ori Legacy Autosport +11.6294s
17 Wyatt Brichacek Jay Howard Driver Development +12.2329s
18 Max Kaeser Miller Vinatieri Motorsports +12.8421s
Ret Josh Pierson Exclusive Autosport
Ret Christian Brooks Exclusive Autosport
Fastest lap: Rasmussen, 2m11.405s

Championship standings
1 Rasmussen 65   2 Green 47   3 Barrichello 39   4 Round-Garrido 38   5 d’Orlando 42   6 Bogle 27   7 Shields 29   8 Brooks 14   9 Sundaramoorthy 25   10 Campbell 20