Home Featured Chadwick joins Prema in FREC’s pre-season Mugello test

Chadwick joins Prema in FREC’s pre-season Mugello test

by Ida Wood

Photo: Prema

Formula Regional European Championship and Italian Formula 4’s pre-season testing has begun at Mugello, with the surprise addition of Jamie Chadwick at Prema.

The W Series and MRF Challenge champion was the slowest of the six FREC cars on day one of the test, lapping 2.614 seconds off the pace set by team-mate and F4 graduate Gianluca Petecof. She took the place of the absent Roman Stanek.

In second place was FIA F3 Championship-bound Matteo Nannini, who joined DR Formula and was 0.320s from the front.

Petecof’s Prema F4 team-mate Oliver Rasmussen and fellow Ferrari junior Arthur Leclerc were both within a second of his best lap, and sandwiched DR’s Emidio Pesce in fourth place.

In the 16-strong Italian F4 continent, Prema was on top again with Nicolas Todt protege Gabriele Mini. He was almost half a second up on Cram Motorsport’s Andrea Rosso, with Jenzer Motorsport’s Filip Ugran and Prema’s Ferrari junior Dino Beganovic not far behind.

Lorenzo Patrese, the 14-year-old son of 1992 Formula 1 world championship runner-up Riccardo, was 10th fastest for the Kart Republic-linked AKM Motorsport team.

He notably beat Bhaitech’s Formula Renault Eurocup racer Nicola Marinangeli, standing in for Jesse Salmenautio, and Sauber-linked karting graduate Dexter Patterson.


Test results
Pos Driver Team Time Gap Laps
1 Gianluca Petecof Prema 1m42.309s F3R
2 Matteo Nannini DR Formula 1m42.629s +0.320s F3R
3 Oliver Rasmussen Prema 1m43.194s +0.885s F3R
4 Emidio Pesce DR Formula 1m43.206s +0.897s F3R
5 Arthur Leclerc Prema 1m43.252s +0.943s F3R
6 Jamie Chadwick Prema 1m44.923s +2.614s F3R
1 Gabriele Mini Prema 1m47.844s F4
2 Andrea Rosso Cram Motorsport 1m48.316s +0.472s F4
3 Filip Ugran Jenzer Motorsport 1m48.355s +0.511s F4
4 Dino Beganovic Prema 1m48.358s +0.514s F4
5 Gabriel Bortoleto Prema 1m48.537s +0.693s F4
6 Francesco Simonazzi DRZ Benelli 1m48.593s +0.749s F4
7 Zdenek Chovanec Bhaitech 1m48.946s +1.102s F4
8 Sebastian Ogaard Bhaitech 1m49.074s +1.230s F4
9 Leonardo Fornaroli Iron Lynx 1m49.126s +1.282s F4
10 Lorenzo Patrese AKM Motorsport 1m49.376s +1.532s F4
11 Nicola Marinangeli Bhaitech 1m49.499s +1.655s F4
12 Jasin Ferati Jenzer Motorsport 1m49.659s +1.815s F4
13 Dexter Patterson Bhaitech 1m50.054s +2.210s F4
14 Francesco Braschi AS Motorsport 1m50.268s +2.424s F4
15 Pietro Negra AKM Motorsport 1m51.164s +3.320s F4
16 Samir Ben Jenzer Motorsport 1m52.879s +5.035s F4