Home Formula 3GB3 Carlin signs UAE F4 winner Lucas Petersson for BRDC British F3

Carlin signs UAE F4 winner Lucas Petersson for BRDC British F3

by Ida Wood

Formula 4 UAE race-winner Lucas Petersson has become Carlin’s first signing for the 2019 BRDC British Formula 3 season.

The 17-year-old Swede made his car racing debut in the Middle Eastern championship early last year, after winning the UAE Rotax Max Junior championship, and took a podium in his first weekend.

He returned to the championship for the 2017-18 season, and finished fourth in the 2017-18 standings with two wins.

?I’m really looking forward to racing in a championship and country that has such a rich heritage in motorsport,” said Petersson.

“Being a young driver, I’ve always aspired to take part in this championship and to do it with such as successful team like Carlin is very humbling. I have no expectations apart from giving it all I’ve got.?

Petersson has been testing with Carlin throughout this year, and also made a French F4 cameo at Dijon.

?We are pleased to welcome Lucas to the team for upcoming 2019 season,” added Carlin team principal Trevor Carlin.

“Lucas has already been testing with us and has made a good impression on the team. He?s already had good results in other championships he?s competed in so we?re looking forward to seeing what he can achieve in BRDC British F3.”

Last week a open British F3 test was held at Silverstone that attracted several names of note. ADAC F4 champion Lirim Zendeli tested with Fortec to gain experience of British circuits, and was partnered with IMSA Prototype Challenge champion Kris Wright. Chris Dittmann Racing ran Northern Ireland Formula Ford 1600 champion Matt Round-Garrido, who also tested with the team during the final round of the season, and Young Racing Driver Academy member Tommy Foster.

British F3 returnees Clement Novalak, Manuel Maldonado and Euroformula Open star Kaylen Frederick tested with Carlin, with Pavan Ravishankar, Sasakorn Chaimongkol and Arvin Esmaeili stuck with Double R Racing, Hillspeed and Douglas Motorsport respectively.