Home Formula RegionalEurocup-3 Campos’s Christian Ho turns pole into Eurocup-3 win in Algarve race one

Campos’s Christian Ho turns pole into Eurocup-3 win in Algarve race one

by Ida Wood

Photo: Eurocup-3

Campos Racing’s Christian Ho claimed pole for and then won Eurocup-3’s first race at Algarve on Saturday.

Palou Motorsport’s Luciano Morano initially set the pace in qualifying, then Drivex School’s Joao Diaz set a 1m40.036s benchmark that stood for 70 seconds before Ho set a 1m39.993s. Ho lowered the pace four more times, ending the session with a 1m39.049s that earned him pole by 0.253s over MP Motorsport’s Bruno del Pino.

MP’s Owen Tangavelou, Campos’s Valentin Kluss and Sainteloc Racing’s Alexander Abkhazava were also within 0.4s of pole, with 0.965s covering the top 14. Points leader Javier Sagrera was only 10th fastest.

Ho avoided having to worry about being overtaking into turn one on the opening lap due to Tangavelou attacking del Pino through the first two corners. He got into second place, and after that they continued to fight and del Pino got back past. By the end of the lap they were 1.3s behind the leader.

Sainteloc’s Finley Green failed to make the start, while Global Racing Service’s Emely de Heus immediately struck car issues and retired in the pits on lap two after the safety car came out due to Sainteloc’s Jose Garfias stopping at the side of the track while Palou Motorsport’s Luciano Morano drove around slowly with a mangled front wing.

The restart took place on lap six, and Abkhazava tried going around the outside of Tangavelou at turn one. Although he did get ahead, Tangavelou moved pack past on lap seven down the pit straight. They were quickly gapped by the top two, and del Pino stayed within a second of Ho for four laps.

There were two seconds splitting the top two on lap 13 when the safety car returned due to Campos’s Suleiman Zanfari getting into race-ending trouble. Four laps later the drivers met the chequered flag in formation, as there was no restart, and Ho – who had driven with an injured hand – jumped up to fourth in the championship standings by taking victory.

Sagrera made it up to fifth place, with Campos’s Valentin Kluss sixth and MP’s Dario Cabanelas seventh. Before the final safety car period, Campos’s Noah Lisle and GRS’s Nikola Tsolov got past Drivex’s Daniel Nogales and that led to them finishing eighth and ninth once Zanfari retired.

Race results (17 laps)
Pos Driver Team Time
1 Christian Ho Campos Racing
2 Bruno del Pino MP Motorsport +0.650s
3 Owen Tangavelou MP Motorsport +0.975s
4 Alexander Abkhazava Sainteloc Racing +1.174s
5 Javier Sagrera MP Motorsport +1.964s
6 Valentin Kluss Campos Racing +2.229s
7 Dario Cabanelas MP Motorsport +2.411s
8 Noah Lisle Campos Racing +2.577s
9 Nikola Tsolov Global Racing Service +2.949s
10 Daniel Nogales Drivex School +3.958s
11 Diego de la Torre Sainteloc Racing +4.194s
12 Nick Gilkes Drivex School +4.985s
13 George Zhuravskiy Drivex School +5.148s
14 Gaspard Le Gallais Drivex School +6.012s
15 Isaac Barashi Global Racing Service +6.280s
16 Victoria Blokhina Drivex School +6.647s
17 Joao Diaz Drivex School +7.256s
18 Garrett Berry Palou Motorsport +7.872s
Ret Suleiman Zanfari Campos Racing
Ret Emmo Fittipaldi MP Motorsport
Ret Michael Shin Campos Racing
Ret Theodor Jensen Palou Motorsport
Ret Luciano Morano Palou Motorsport
Ret Jose Garfias Sainteloc Racing
Ret Emely de Heus Global Racing Service
DNS Finley Green Sainteloc Racing
Pole: Ho, 1m39.049s   Fastest lap: Fittipaldi, 1m39.684s

Championship standings
1 del Pino 61   2 Sagrera 58   3 Tangavelou 58   4 Ho 41   5 Abkhazava 38   6 Fittipaldi 38   7 Kirill Smal 27   8 Kluss 22   9 Lisle 14   10 Garfias 14